We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relaxing and friendly B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Guesthouse
Ranked #23 of 78 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My girlfiend and I stayed at The Grand Guesthouse for 6 nights in room 3. It is a very relaxing B&B, well kept, clean and away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. However it was possible to walk to the upper end of Duval St in about 10 mins but to return from the lower end (Mallory Square) would take about 30mins. If you like walking, as we do, this was no problem. However, if not, it was possible to rent bicycles from Derek the manager. Derek was full of good advice and willing to help organise activities for us when we asked. The rooms are not huge but easily sufficient and more importantly are cleaned and made up each day.
Breakfast is continental style each morning served outside on a patio in the middle of the building, giving chance to meet some of the other residents. It was basic e.g. bagels, yoghurts, fruit, boiled eggs, cerials etc but sufficient to fuel up for the morning or even most of the day.
There is car parking available which is great as space is at a premium in Key West with parking around the centre difficult.
All in all, we enjoyed ourselves and left happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    121
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
391
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place is absolutely perfect! Jim at the desk knows everything to do on this island and even has a map to show you how to get there. Service is awesome, the grounds are beautiful! The suites have kitchenettes! And the prices are better than comparable! This place for me was perfect because it wasn't far from Duval Street on a bicycle (they rent them right here at the inn) and you dont get the noise from Duval Street. And the breakfast is great! Thank guys!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viksfan084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I had been back and forth on places to stay in Key West being that we have never been here before. We wanted somewhere that was close enough to walk to everything and still a good deal. We decided on the Grand and couldn't be happier. The location is walking distance to Duval Street and many other great locations. We brought bikes down and were able to ride all around the Island in a short amount of time. The Grand rents them if you are flying down. Derek at the front is very helpful and gave us a great list of restaurants/things to do. The continental breakfast is perfect to start the day off with. We have already recommended this place to others and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 341ChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband has never been to Key West and I have only been on a cruise (which I was there for like 5 hours). We wanted to go back and enjoy the sights without being interrupted by drunk tourists. We searched around for great Bed and Breakfasts and stumbled upon the Grand Guesthouse. We were pleased with the video and pictures on the site and the reviews on TripAdvisor. We decided to book. We stayed in Room #1 which is very small, but it was just right for the two of us and our weekend getaway. When we arrived we were first greeted by the house dog, Bailey, who is as sweet as dogs come. She was friendly and lovely. Then we were greeted by Derek, who looks after the B&B. He was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about everything Key West. He drew on a map all the highlights we needed to hit! He even gave us a two coupons for free Key Lime Pie! We were given wine and a beer upon our arrival. Very nice! We rented two bike for both days because the Grand is 5 blocks from Duval Street. You can walk it easily, but why not ride a bike? Breakfast was continental style and had a very home like feel. I was very pleased with my visit and stay at the Grand Guesthouse!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecharlestondancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Key West for a weekend at the last minute, and I booked The Grand Guesthouse for two nights. We stayed in Room #4, which has a queen bed and private bath. The room was small, but perfect for the two of us. The room was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. The grounds were beautiful, with chairs and tables and a hammock for guests to enjoy. The location was good, within walking distance to Duval Street and all major attractions. The staff was beyond helpful as well...we took some of Derek's recommendations and we were not disappointed. Overall, a wonderful place to stay in Key West. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed for five nights. Very nice. The room was small, but we had enough space, and it was very clean, quite, and well air-conditioned. The B&B itself is cute, quiet, and run by very friendly and helpful people. Within walking distance of everything. It was a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just stayed this past week at the Grand and we really loved it!! It was clean and very comfortable, the outside garden areas were lovely and very inviting to be in!! Everyone there were extremely nice and always wanting to please, making our few days there the best!! We stayed in room #2 which was small but very clean and comfortable, it even had its own little patio where we had our morning coffee and in the evening shared a bottle of wine to wind down after a long day of exploring the island. The only down side was there is no pool but I'm not sure we would have found the time to be in one anyway! It was an awesome place to be for our first of many visits there!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktthaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#51 of 78 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#41 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#29 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.5 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#19 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Guesthouse

Property: The Grand Guesthouse
Address: 1116 Grinnell St, Key West, FL 33040-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town Key West, The Grand Guesthouse offers intimate accommodations for you to relax and recharge. We're a Frommer's Travel Guide Favorite, squeaky clean, comfortable, and affordable. All of our rooms feature local artwork and tropical decor, a small refrigerator, A/C & ceiling fan, private telephone line with free domestic long distance (US/Canada), cable television, an iPod & iPhone docking station, CD player, and free wireless internet. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served every morning, and free parking is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing