We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wrexham UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

From the minute we walked in through the door we knew that we had made the right decision for us. The ambience is relaxed, the whole place is immaculate and every consideration has been made for the guest's stay. We got terrific advice on places to go and its location meant that we never had to use the car - a bit of a walk but well worth it to see the area. Breakfast in the courtyard is glorious. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolj2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    133
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
439
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

What can I say but AMAZING? There is not one flaw about The Grand.

Upon arrival, Bailey the dog greeted us. We soon met Derek, the awesome manager spoken so highly of here on TripAdvisor. Derek has a natural gift as a people-person. He makes you feel special, like it's not work for him but a way of life.

He offered us beer or wine, which hit the spot after the 6 hour drive. We were shown a map, which Derek went into detail about where to eat, some attractions and prices. He's a walking dictionary/GPS of Key West.

Then he took us to our rooms. I want to recognize Maria, the housekeeper, for the fantastic job she does cleaning. I could not see a speck of dust nor a grain of sand. We even passed her a couple of times and she went out of her way to say "hello." Keep up the good work Maria!

The grounds at The Grand is a tropical paradise. Everything is well maintained, lush and the walkways are clean. Instead of partying at the bars, we stayed in the 2 nights we were there and drank in the gardens. The lighting is so quaint.

I noticed on the "bad reviews" (those people are certainly wrong...) that people complained about the sound of the A/C wall units being loud. Trust me when I say, it's not loud, but just like an A/C unit at any other hotel.

Complimentary breakfast was a huge perk each morning, instead of having to blow a large amount of money for breakfast on the island.

All in all, this was the most enjoyable lodging I've EVER stayed in. Period.

Room Tip: Rooms #2 and #9 are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FL_Adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

With flight delays, we unfortunately arrived after our scheduled check-in time. The Grand, however, was very accomodating. When we arrived, we were presented with a map of local attractions which helped us find the fantastic Flaming Buoy restaurant where we had dinner. Our room was spotless, and very comfortable. The expanded continental breakfast served outside was a great way to start each morning.

The location of the Grand is perfect. It's a short walk or bike from all the attractions of Old Town and Duvall Street, but is removed enough that the constant activity on Duvall Street won't keep you up all night. I'd definitely suggest renting bikes from the Grand in order to get around. It's a great way to see the sights.

While I didn't actually get to meet Jeff, I can't say enough great things about Jim and Derek. Both provided us with a wealth of information about Key West and local activities and attractions. But more than that, they took the time to get to know us. We checked out having made a couple of new friends from our stay.

I highly recommend the Grand when you're considering where to stay in Key West. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The service at the Grand Guesthouse is perfect. I'm so glad we went with a small guesthouse rather than staying out of the way at one of the bigger resort hotels. The personal service is so valuable (special mention goes to Derek who can tell you everything about the island and give you the most amazing advice on where to eat etc). The Grand is tucked away a little (which is great). It's such a short walk or ride on to Duval and so close to the little South Beach and great restaurants. It's a terrific location.
Our tip is to DEFINITELY hire bikes at the Grand to get around. It's cheap and really opens up the island to you. Riding around on our bikes was one of the best bits about staying in KW. I'm a scaredycat and would never dream of cycling at home in London, but here the traffic is well used to tourists wobbling around until they get the hang of it (or wobbling around on the way home from the bars on Duval St!). It's so convenient that the bikes are always parked up outside for you.
Our room was lovely (Rm 7). A comfy bed, a walk in shower and a livingroom/kitchenette. Big windows overlooking palm trees and a little balcony/patio area if you wanted to sit outside. It was spotlessly clean and bright and comfortable. We borrowed beach towels which was another great, convenient service, and had fresh towels for the bathroom whenever we needed them.
The best thing about this place though is Derek. It's like having a personal tour guide, restaurant critic and GPS system! Derek (and Bailey, the gorgeous, friendly labrador) gave us confidence that we were going to have great dining experiences (go to El Siboney for wonderful Cuban food and Carolines for a fabulous fish sandwich). We also knew that the sailing trips we went on (Danger Charters) were going to be just right for us - not the big party boats - because we felt he got the measure of us and matched us to things he knew we would like. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Grand Guesthouse. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We loved room 7 for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We are in the process of a 'round Florida' trip and decided on the drive down to Key West to see what was there. The Grand Guesthouse was a stroke of good luck. A warm welcome and a fabulous place to stay. Jim is a mine of information - all in all, an exceptional place. We definitely plan to return to repeat a most fantastic experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10, upstairs, quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroljones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Although small, the property is clean and inviting. Continental breakfast was great and everything provided was fresh (need some more "adult" cereals..too many presweetened).
Locaton very quiet. Within blocks are a few excellent restaurants and manager Derek was full of knowledge about restaurants and helped with reservations. Will definately return when in Key West. Free parking is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

My thanks to Derick and the rest of the staff at "The Grand" for a job well done. This past Memorial day weekend was my twelfth visit to Key West in the past ten years and my first visit to "The Grand Guesthouse." I rarely visit the same accommodations more than once, as I like to experience different hotels and inns as well as different price points based on how much money I have budgeted for the trip.

I have to admit this was a budget minded weekend for my girlfriend and I, and we were even considering camping at Stock Island first. After computing the campground's $75 per night plus taxes, fees and cab rides back and forth and discovering "The Grand's" reasonable pricing, the decision was an easy one. we were arriving with no expectations except price and location, but we were pleasantly surprised with much, much more.

The website "http://www.thegrandguesthouse.com/" is an excellent example of truth in advertising. What was promised is what we received. A clean, cool, comfortable room at one of the best price points on the island. The size of the room was appropriate (there are $400,000 houses on the island that only measure 500 square feet) for key west... The location was perfect as the walk to the major attractions is only .5 to one mile each direction. There was even a much larger continental style breakfast than I have experienced at other inns.

We intentionally selected the room on the front porch facing the street. It's hard to beat the well manicured tropical foliage and an ice cold beer while people watching in Key West.

You can easily spend twice as much money per night in Key West and really receive zero additional benefits. We had a great time at "The Grand" and we both highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you have any questions, just call. Great staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustajtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Guesthouse

Property: The Grand Guesthouse
Address: 1116 Grinnell St, Key West, FL 33040-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town Key West, The Grand Guesthouse offers intimate accommodations for you to relax and recharge. We're a Frommer's Travel Guide Favorite, squeaky clean, comfortable, and affordable. All of our rooms feature local artwork and tropical decor, a small refrigerator, A/C & ceiling fan, cable television, a USB enabled alarm clock, and free wireless internet. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served every morning, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing