We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
Ranked #8 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed a single night at the Curry Mansion last week. The location, inn itself and staff attentiveness were all top notch.It is truly a museum and take the time to go to the very top and look out the widow's peak (?). Great view of Key West. The inn is also just far enough off Duval street to remain quite quiet. Also it is a reasonable walk from the Key West express ferry - a car is not really needed.
The happy hour is well appointed with free drinks and snacks and the breakfast offered is very complete.
We also stored our bags while we toured in advance of the ferry (after checking out) and there was absolutely no problem.
The only problem I have is the cost per night (although everything in Key West is expensive)

Room Tip: we were on the second floor and the view out the back (toward Duval Street) was not too good (back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_S6627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 560 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

This gorgeous old mansion is only 100 yards from Key West's Duval Street, and two blocks from Hemingway's favorite bar, "Sloppy Joes". This bed & breakfast has authentic period furniture and furnishings well worth photographing. It has been converted into a very workable bed & breakfast without compromising the architecture. A poolside "Happy Hour" with a full open bar and generous snacks makes a terrific prelude to a walk to Mallory Square for the Key West Sunset Ritual. In the morning, be prepared for what is touted as a "gourmet breakfast" and what turns out to be just that...truly sumptuous. Think about booking this place well in advance, as the number of rooms are limited. Their prices are lower than the mundane "big box" resorts, for a stay that will be truly memorable.

Room Tip: If you select a poolside room, avoid the first floor. In the main house, try for the "King Mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights with a group of friends who have stayed here many, many times over the years. It was our first time at this beautiful old Inn and we had a wonderful time. Our room in the main "house" was very large with plenty of storage space. The beds were comfortable and the shower was great! The furniture is wicker - very old fashioned and pretty. Even though the cost per night is high (upper $200 range for our two bed room just steps from the small swimming pool), it's a great value. You are steps from Duval Street and just about anything you could want in Key West; a large breakfast is provided as well as a self-serve cocktail session in the evening with so many snacks you wouldn't even have to worry about dinner.

Only a few issues keep me from giving a full five stars for this place: The lighting near the beds is very poor (they have those $*&@^ CFL lights in the lamps), there is limited parking, and the room is very "bright" at night. If you require total darkness in order to sleep, bring a eye shade. There was so much ambient lighting coming from every direction, we never needed a nightlight.

You will not be disappointed if you book this property.

Room Tip: If at all possible, get one of the rooms around the pool on the main level. You're just steps f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcl491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites in the James House, across Caroline Street from the Curry Mansion. This was a perfect choice. My parents slept in the main room, and I slept in the smaller, sitting room, which had a trundle bed. The 2 rooms were separated by french doors, and had separate air-conditioning units, which allowed me to open my window, while they were able to opt for ac. We had a tiny, but private porch where we could enjoy our morning coffee, or our evening glass of wine. We attended the happy hour and enjoyed meeting the other guests. Breakfast included fresh fruit for me and made-to-order omelets for my parents.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

The location was just fantastic for being able to walk everywhere in old town. The inn has plenty of parking spaces, for those who drive in to Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked three days before our stay and were lucky there was availability! We loved our stay and will definitely return. The happy hour is wonderful and the full breakfast is phenomenal! The staff was more then helpful. We were very happy with our stay. Very accomodating!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was looking for a place to take my fiancé' to where she would enjoy herself in her element, which is old style homes. I found the Curry Mansion Inn online and noticed it was a smaller place located on the corner of Caroline and Duval right near Mallory Square. The Curry Mansion exceeded my expectations. The place is like a museum from the late 1800's to early 1900's. Every morning there was breakfast next to the pool with omelet stations and all the sides you would expect. At 5pm every night they set up a cocktail hour for 2 hours with top shelf spirits and beer on tap or by can. Every staff member was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the Curry Mansion Inn if you are looking for a quaint romantic place to stay. We will be back in the future. Thank you very much for a lovely stay and warm staff.

Room Tip: The main mansion room 207 has a private wrap around balcony with your own private table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our second year here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast is a full breakfast and very good. They have a cocktail time between 5 and 7 nightly with live entertainment. The are clean,spacious and takes you back to a gentler time and place. If you stay, take advantage of the mansion tour and say hello to the owner, a very friendly, active senior citizen named Edith. The location couldn't be better. It's 1/2 block from Duval Street and 2 to 3 blocks from Mallory Square. There is a washer, dryer and pool on site.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps you will need to request a ground floor room as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
2,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn

Address: 511 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $145 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Florida's first millionaire, the Curry Mansion is one of Key West's most beautiful buildings. The Mansion has the perfect location, just off Duval St. near Mallory Square. The Inn consists of three buildings and has ample off-street parking. A complimentary full, hot breakfast with omelets and a 2 hour open bar cocktail party are offered daily around the sparkling pool. All rooms have full private bath, AC, and small fridge. The Curry Mansion's friendly and knowledgeable staff, excellent location, free parking and amenities offer a complete Key West experience not to be forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Mansion Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing