We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
Ranked #8 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Curry Mansion Inn was the perfect accommodation for me and my friends. The other guests were mature and considerate. It is just steps from Duval Street and we were visiting during Spring Break. One would expect it to be noisy but it was not. We chose Curry Mansion Inn for the price and location and it was an ideal bargain. The breakfast and afternoon cocktail party were delightful. The rooms were beautiful and clean, the property was secure and the pool was right outside our door. My mother was traveling with me and she is a resident of Florida. She plans to bring some of her retired friends to the Curry Mansion in the future. The self-guided tour of the home was lovely. Common areas for breakfast and relaxation are outside on a patio which was perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasienk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    83
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
74
309
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I had high expectations of a grand Florida B&B. It was okay, but that's about it...
The main part of the house open to tours was furnished nicely. But the guest rooms were dated and pretty cheaply decorated. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. But a bit pricey for 'adequate.'

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellec2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Curry Mansion is in an absolute awesome location for being able to walk wherever you’d like to go but it comes at a very hefty price; the music from the bars at night was unbearable. Based on the reviews and the experience of some other people we were traveling with (who don’t have to the greatest hearing) it may not be as much of an issue in all of the rooms but ours was ridiculous. There was extremely loud music coming through the back of the room till at least 2AM (bartime is 4AM) every night, and I could also hear music coming from a bar in the other direction as well. As others have said the air conditioner does a decent job of drowning out the sound but it wasn’t possible to get our fan to run continuously so it wasn’t a long term solution. We ended up buying earplugs and more importantly turning the TV to a static channel and turning it up loud to provide some white noise. Even with the earplugs and static it was the worst sleep I’ve ever gotten in a hotel. As other have said the rooms are bright at night due to the blinds not fully blocking out the lights in the courtyard but that’s like the annoyance of a mosquito biting you while a crocodile is gnawing off your leg. It was also loud in early morning because of bottles being dumped/picked up.

Breakfast started at 8 and we were always up anyways but sleeping much past then on the ground floor would have been nearly impossible because breakfast took place in the courtyard. There was a table with people talking and eating so close to our room door that we had to uncomfortably squeeze by them as we left our room. It also didn’t feel like we had any privacy because I’m sure the people outside our door could easily hear us talking. If you’re a partier and stayed out until bartime the music wouldn’t be a problem but then you’d have to deal with the loud sounds of breakfast 4 hours later, so it seems like a no win situation.

Breakfast was served 8-10 with a lot of nice options including made to order omletes/eggs. The breakfast quality was decent, not great but certainly not bad either. They frequently had a few things out before 8 (i.e. cereal but not milk) but one big negative was that a lot of activities start early in the morning and we weren’t able to get the benefit of the nice breakfast. Originally we were supposed to be diving and we would’ve missed breakfast every time.

The afternoon happy hour from 5-7 was a great perk with an open bar where you mix your own drinks. They also had snacks out (I don’t think I’d call them appetizers) which were decent. They had live music every night, typically a piano player but one day they had a guitar player who was very good. Happy hour is a great money saver, you can fill up enough to not be so tempted by appetizers at dinner and you can do some early “free” drinking. The alcohol quality was relatively impressive, not top shelf but a heck of a lot better than what you get in most “open bar” places. I would’ve liked a few more options in the bar (i.e. a beer other than bud light and some tequila) but even more important would’ve been some more variety from day to day both for breakfast, and even more so in the happy hour snacks. Perhaps I’m just being nitpicky, both the breakfast and the happy hour were great perks of the hotel.

The pool was small and in the middle of the courtyard, more for dipping than swimming. Being in the courtyard also put it a little too much in the middle of the action but we never used it anyways.

As an amusing warning, we returned one night to find two people locked out on their balcony, apparently the door locked behind them. We had to call the after-hours number for Curry Mansion and ask them to come rescue them.

The room was relatively old looking but that’s as it should be at a place like this, what’s more important to me is that the room had lots of space and was clean. The beds were relatively uncomfortable but the room had a nice big shower and a second sink/vanity in the main room which was nice.

It should also be noted that the place as a whole felt a lot more like a small resort than a B&B, the owners weren’t around chatting it up with everyone that much which is probably a negative to some people but I find that a lot better than when the owners are overbearing.

Given the location having a rental car is typically not necessary but we needed to go visit family a few keys away and the free parking was a wonderful perk given how insanely expensive it is to park downtown.

All in all this is an extremely difficult hotel to rate, there are a lot of great things about the place and if you can get a room that isn’t noisy it’s probably a really nice place to stay with some exceptional benefits: location, breakfast, happy hour, and free parking. If you are staying in a noisy room though those perks won’t seem to be worth it anymore.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends over a long weekend. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious, and surround a smallish pool. The complimentary breakfast was very good with made-to-order omelets and a nice variety of breads and fruit. The afternoon happy hour was surprisingly good - with make your own drinks and lots of food to nibble on. There was one major drawback though - the noise from the bars on Duval. Our room had one window at the back that opened directly onto the roof of a restaurant/bar. The noise from patrons, crashing bottles (there must be a trash can nearby), and loud music was unbelievable and lasted until 2am every night. Our friends who were in the next two rooms had the same experience. The inn was fully booked so we weren't able to change rooms. Not sure if the noise is as bad in the other rooms. There is also a curiously placed light that shines very brightly all night. The light comes in via an uncovered window above the door and makes the entire room very bright throughout the night. Between the noise and the light we did not sleep well. Overall, the inn was nice but when you can't get a decent night's sleep it makes for a poor stay. At the price we paid ($270/night) we expected much better. Only stay here if the inn can guarantee you a quiet room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkennedy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curryinn, Manager at Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
We have the perfect location, just off Duval St., near Mallory Square, which allows for our guests to be able to stroll through the historic district without having to bother with finding and paying for parking. The convenience of being in the heart of Key West is indeed offset with the nightlife that is also part of the Key West experience. We have recently completed installation of additional soundproofing for our rooms. This week is the height of Spring Break, which means that the noise levels are at the yearly highest ,and we have not received a complaint from our guests about the loud noise from Duval St. While most of our guests don't mention the noise, only how great their stay was, we believe this sound mitigation action will help to ensure that everyone has the best possible experience with us, day or night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania suburb
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I just returned from a few days at the Curry Mansion Inn and couldn't have been happier with our stay. I had a few concerns prior to arrival based on some not so great reviews listed here but we absolutely loved it. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff member who, after checking us in, walked us to our room and gave us a brief tour while pointing out some of the inn's amenities. The cocktail hours were fun - they provide a nice variety of liquors for make your own cocktails along with some light snacks. The breakfasts were even nicer with made to order omelettes. Our room offered everything we needed, was very clean and the bed so comfortable. It was a little noisy during the late night/early morning hours but that's the price you pay for being so close to Duval. The staff also went out of their way to make sure the guests were happy and were quite helpful when it came to dinner suggestions and reservations. One woman in particular was very, very accomodating - I believe her name was Nancy. Don't miss out on the house tour - it's quite beautiful. All in all if you're looking for a cozy place where you can relax, meet lots of nice people and be close to all the action - this is it. By the way, many of the quests we met had stayed there before - some several times before. That's a recommendation in itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hundrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

No one was friendly. NO ONE! From the desk clerk to the breakfast cook. The rooms were like a prison. Windows were blacked out and nailed shut. No balcony. Plates that were left on main porch in morning were still there at night.. The desk clerk couldn't even give directions. No smiles. Swimming pool was the size of a large hot tub. Hot tub was across the street. Real convenient.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrbiglil8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curryinn, Manager at Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
We would like to thank mrbiglil for taking the time to make a comment. We apologize and regret that their experience was atypical. It is true that a few of our rooms have a back window that looks out onto the roof of the neighboring building and we felt it was more aesthetically pleasing to apply an opaque film that allows in the light but hides the view. The door and front window of these rooms do not have this application and face/open out onto our pool/courtyard area that has palm trees and tropical plants and is quite lovely.
We can't understand how all of our employees were unfriendly and uncooperative. This too is quite an exception to our guests' normal experience and we apologize that they did not feel welcome. We truly appreciate our guests choosing to stay with us and enjoy hosting them. Our front desk staff enjoys helping people find and experience the best of Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We went for our 30th anniversary and it was the perfect place. You get the quiet and calm you need. The perfect location to Duval. A full breakfast to start your day. The staff couldn't have been any better. All where very helpful and accommodating. No problem if you want to stay another night they will set it up with minimum inconvenience to you. On a scale of 1 to 10. 10 is the only number

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanap078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn

Property: Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
Address: 511 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Florida's first millionaire, the Curry Mansion is one of Key West's most beautiful buildings. The Mansion has the perfect location, just off Duval St. near Mallory Square. The Inn consists of three buildings and has ample off-street parking. A complimentary full, hot breakfast with omelets and a 2 hour open bar cocktail party are offered daily around the sparkling pool. All rooms have full private bath, AC, and small fridge. The Curry Mansion's friendly and knowledgeable staff, excellent location, free parking and amenities offer a complete Key West experience not to be forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Mansion Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing