We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Key West PERFECT Bed and Breakfast --The Conch House wins first place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Conch House Heritage Inn
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Key West PERFECT Bed and Breakfast --The Conch House wins first place!”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed for our first time at the Conch House Heritage Inn on Truman Avenue, just off Duvall during the hectic holiday crunch time and we were still treated as if we were their only guests! The "No Vacancy" sign was the only signal that they were sold out---as the attention and personal service we received were so first class---and attentive---that we felt like their only house guests! From Hillary's personal welcome, tour and great "must do restaurant" recommendations, to Aimee and Laura's constant smile and assistance, we loved our entire stay. We booked the Boca Grande Room and loved every inch---slept great, loved the breakfast, and relaxed by the pool & front porch--we seriously can't wait to come back again VERY SOON.............

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
406
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at the lovely house near at the pool, loved it. Conch house is a really nice and warm place, excellent breakfast and great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeerardRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

One of a series of at least 3 or 4 Key West Guest Houses all in a row on Truman Ave with a similar architecture, the Conch House would prove to be the absolute perfect location for us to stay at Key West. Our room (The Heritage Room) was small but cozy, and honestly wasn’t as small as I was expecting, judging from the emphasis on their website of the room’s petite size. We had a private bathroom, but it was located across the hall, so we had to access it using our room key. It was a minor inconvenience, as it turned out, since the awkward location of the bathroom was made up for by its large size, and its WONDERFUL shower. (Super heavy jetted massaging showerhead, large roomy tub size…wonderful!!!) Plus our small guest room was two steps away from the back stairwell that led directly down to breakfast each morning. And the bed was remarkably comfortable…we slept extremely well every night.

The location of the Inn was also ideal…it was just two very short city blocks away from Duvall Street where all the action is, but it was also far enough away from the chaos of the main drag that we were able to “escape” there when we were done each night. Not to mention the fact that there was a CVS plaza just one street down on your way to Duvall, which was a great place to get our necessities we forgot or could not bring on the plane in our carry ons. There was also a Subway in the plaza, which is where we went to eat the first day when we arrived and were too hungry to really search further, and a Papa Johns for late night cravings.

But the best part of the Conch House Heritage Inn is the personal touch you receive there, as opposed to a larger hotel in Key West. There is a staff member in the office almost all day each day, and they are happy to give you suggestions for things to do, places to eat, etc. On the final day of our trip to Key West, our check-out time at the Conch House was 11am, but our plane didn't depart till 5:30pm. They were happy to let us leave our luggage in a corner of the office while we went out on the city in the mean time. And when the weather wound up pouring rain, and our flight was delayed twice, they made a difficult situation extremely easy and manageable. And all this personal help after we'd officially checked-out of our room. Truly, we were blown away by the Conch House Heritage Inn, and recommend it about as highly as we possibly can.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidhe_Etain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman (Orange County) New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

For the third year in a row my wife and I and our friends Ted & Mary spent a six day "extra long weekend" in Key West as a Columbus Day getaway.

The previous two years we stayed at The Curry House on Fleming - close to the Wharf. This year we wanted a change of scenery so we booked rooms in The Conch House which is on the southern side of "Old Town," within a few block of the "Southernmost Point" of the United States for that matter. (This is the quieter, more upscale, "artsy" area of "Old Town.")

Search "Conch House" and you'll find their website. Not only will you get photos, rates, that sort of thing, but you'll read about the heritage of The Conch House and the Family which still owns it three generations later.

The house - public areas and the rooms themselves - are beautifully decorated... elegant but not stuffy... adorned with beautiful paintings and filled with fine antique - but sturdy - furniture.

The "attractive but functional" furniture theme extends to the outside pool area where the furniture is a mix of hard wood and study traditional white wicker. (I'm 6'4" tall and 350 lbs.; "details" such as these matter to me.) (Plus... plastic outdoor furniture is just so... gouache.)

The "House" is actually a "compound" of sorts with a "main house" and two "cottages" plus a separate "cabana room." The pool is to the right side of the main house with the cabana and one of the cottages "behind" it and the parking lot (blocked by a tall wooden fence providing privacy) in "front."

(On side parking is a big plus!)

We stayed in the Heritage Room upstairs in the main house and our friends stayed in the neighboring Cayo Hueso room. Their room was larger but our room was quite large enough. They had a private bathroom in the room and we had a very large separate private bathroom (with our own key) right outside our room proper. (Great water pressure by the way!!!) (Very, very comfortable mattress/bed as well; quality linens including bathrobes.)

There's an indoor seating/reading area with wicker furniture inside on the second floor as well as an outdoor covered wraparound porch for second floor guests. Downstairs there's another covered wraparound porch. Both porches are great for "people watching" and just plain relaxation.

Besides the pool there's also a hammock behind the cottage "next door" to the main house as you're facing the house from the street. (Guests staying at that cottage also have a barbeque grill; I'm assuming if that cottage is unoccupied then other guests can utilize "their" grill.)

Service is WONDERFUL....!!! We didn't see the owners, but three staff member "rotate" as "innkeepers" and are on property from before breakfast (which runs from 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.) till early evening. Three young ladies... all personable, knowledgeable, and helpful in all regards. There's also a very, very hardworking housekeeper - Eastern European I believe - who deserved every cent we tipped her and probably more!

As previously noted, the location is hard to beat, pretty much across the street from historic St. Mary's Star of the Sea Church with its beautiful stained windows and just a few blocks off of the "civilized" part of Duval. You're literally a 7-8 minute walk to the beaches of Southernmost Point and a 12-15 minute walk from the heart of "party on!" Duval Street.

You want great seafood? Seven Fishes is right around the corner. More great seafood? Pisces is right up the block across the street! French? Cuban? Both Cafe Sole and El Siboney are a ten minute stroll away!

The Conch House attracts 20-somethings as well as 60-somethings. Us? The four of us are in our mid to late 40's and I'd say guess that 30-somethings to 50-somethings would be the key demographic for guests. I'd call the atmosphere sophisticated but laid back casual slightly upscale. We bring our own alcoholic "supplies" with us when we travel and the staff was fine with our morning ritual of bringing down liquors (Baileys, Kahlua, Navan) for our breakfast coffee and vodka for late morning bloody mary cocktails; we also are quite fond of Gin and Tonics for poolside impromptu happy hours as well as our beloved "Sweet Tea" lemonade cocktails.

(My point... The Conch House definitely fits into the traditional "Key West Vibe" but we're talking "happy" hour... not "drunk hour." This is a mellow "party" atmosphere, not a "grab the nearest lampshade" and make an obnoxious fool of yourself kind of place.)

Anyway... Key West is about B&Bs. There are of course hotels and resorts - nice ones too... check out the Pier House - but for the true Key West vibe you wanna stay at an inn... preferably a B&B.

Oh... and speaking of breakfast... along with your room you get a breakfast of orange or V8 juice... boxed cereals... fresh fruits (strawberries... melon...) excellent muffins, banana bread and kickass coffee cake... bagels (toasted if you like)... hard boiled eggs... and excellent coffee.

As to negatives...

There really were none. That said, my only suggestions are these:

1) Mount the room televisions on the wall - either directly for the flat screen television or on a "hospital mount" for the "regular" televisions. Not that we watched much TV, but if you're gonna have televisions in the rooms then mount them so that both guests can easily watch TV while laying in bed.

2) Add some cheeses and "cold cuts" to the breakfast buffet. I'm not saying go crazy, and I realize that when it comes right down to it these decisions are economic in nature, but some cheese and cold meats put out with breakfast would be like the whip cream and cherry on an ice cream sundae.

(*WINK*)

Anyway... we'll definitely be returning to The Conch House and speaking for all of my "gang" I strongly recommend that whether you're a first timer or seasoned Key West traveler you check out The Conch House.

Bill Barker
Harriman, NY

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was our first of what we hope to be many visits to Key West. We really enjoyed our stay at the Conch House celebrating our 20th anniversary. We had booked the Veranda as this was offered as a second option to our original choice. The web-site said it's their most requested room, so I was sold. The room was nice, but the street noise throughout the night was too much for this suburban mother who wakes easily. Amy graciously offered us another room. We stayed the next three nights in the quaint Hemmingway room, with a beautiful antique mirrored armoire. The room was a bit small, but perfect really as we spent all of our waking hours doing the fun stuff in Key West. BONUS was the fabulous six head shower plenty big enough for two. It was so relaxing and I loved the shower heads in places I've never seen before :) While I'm a pool lover, we were so busy doing other things, we never spent any time in the pool, although it was crystal clear and looked inviting. The breakfasts with the fruit and sweet breads were great. We would have loved some bacon or sausage for protein, but were satisfied none the less. The location was great and we loved the Catholic Church right across the street. As far as Key West goes, a few tips (no pun) for newbie’s - bring lots small bills in your wallet. Everyone wants a tip and there are lots of street entertainers who make their living performing for you. Also any tour you go on be it Jet Ski or snorkeling, the guides will be looking for tips at the end. Bring simple snorkel gear for the public beach so you don't have to rent - there is a nice area to see some ocean life. Everything has a price in Key West - nothing is free - even the public beach. It wasn't really a problem, I was just surprised how we were nickled and dimed everywhere we went (except the bars did not have a cover, go dancing at Dirty Harry’s, great band). Key West vs. Vegas?? We are now Key West fans all the way and definitely a fan of Conch House!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvsummer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Guest houses in Key West all look the same and charge similar amounts for rooms.

The Conch House is in a great location at a quieter end of town but about a 10 minute walk to the marina and 2-5 minutes from the main shops and resturants.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the main house itself was inviting, cosy and very clean. We stayes in the Cabana room which looks like an oversized hed at the pool side but in fact, was a very compact and versatile room which was cleverly laid out. This was also the cheapest room and by far he cutest.


The room had a fridge, TV and air con as well as plenty of towels.

overall It was a very quiet guest house which was perfect for us as we wanted some R&R and they also serve a terrific breakfast in the mornings which included bagels and fresh home baked banana loaf.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinkyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful mini-vacation to key West. We were fortunate to stumble upon this most lovely bed and breakfast! The Conch House is charming, comfortable and the perfect spot to call home for a few days of "r & r"! Our room (the Cayo Hueso) was very clean, nicely furnished and comfortable!
One of our most favorite memories was having breakfast on the Veranda each morning by the pool. The food was just perfect and the coffee delicious!

We also must give praise to the ladies at the front desk. They were most helpful with local recommendations and were always happy to answer our questions. And we had many!
We cant wait to make a return visit! It was a great vacation and The Conch House was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany12267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Conch House Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conch House Heritage Inn

Property: The Conch House Heritage Inn
Address: 625 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Inn located 1.5 blocks from world famous Duval Street in the heart of the old town district. Spacious accommodations with elegant antique furnishings in the main house or enjoy a tropical poolside cottage. Guest receive the finest in native hospitality and customer service surrounded by classic Key West ambiance. 5th generation family owned. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Conch House Heritage Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing