We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B for a great price!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Conch House Heritage Inn
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Charming B&B for a great price!!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Conch House on Truman Ave in Key West was a great place for a romantic weekend! We looked online and found a special rate of $99/night for a spacious room with a private bath and queen size bed. The room was clean and very cozy. There was a couple dressers for clothing and a mini fridge, as well as a tv with cable.

A continental breakfast was included each morning and was just enough to get us going each day. They had numerous porches and patios with seating and rocking chairs to relax in. he pool was very refreshing and large enough for many people (unlike other B&B's). They had bikes on site to rent for a small fee from them directly, and were very helpful in dining recommendations and activites. This B&B is family owned and has been around a long time, but it kept up very nice, while still maintaining that traditional Key West charm! We will definately return.

Dining: Sweet Teas ****, Fogarty's ***, Jack FLats ****

Room Tip: Go directly onto the conch house website and check rates & specials!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
406
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long beach california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Last minute extended stay in Key West found is at the doorstep of the Conch House B&B. Found it a great enbd to our trip and loved every minute of our stay. Will return time and time again. Price, accommodations and service we 2nd to none. Ann was out of this world and went out of her way to help us out. By the way, the whiskey Tangos found gator tail right across the street at Duffey's Steak house and it was the best ever! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingfooled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at B&Bs throughout the USA and in Europe. We love the quaintness and ambiance of B&Bs since our past careers involved many nights spent in typical USA four star hotels. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed in the Conch House. Although the room was clean, it was horribly hot and uncomforrtable with only one small window a/c to cool the bedroom, and nothing to cool down the very hot and humid bathroom area. It was impossible to use the hair dryer and apply makeup without being soaked in perspiration. The best thing about the room - the Hemingway - was the shower. In addition, we have NEVER stayed in a B&B that only offered a less than Holiday Inn Express style of breakfast. There was no prepared breakfast at all, just boxes of cereal, hard boiled eggs, and muffins. No decaf was brewed unless we put in a special request. There was one table with two chairs for ALL the guests to use to sit down - unless you wanted to go outside and sit on the small veranda where it was suffocatingly hot. The public rooms had no a/c. There was no 24/7 coffee, afternoon tea, etc., as we have grown to expect at every single B&B we've ever visited. Bottled water was SOLD for $1. No complimentary beverages for the guests were available. Trust me, we are not fussy or picky people - but this establishment gave us a Bed and little else. We would never return nor recommend this to friends. Sorry, but the B&B involves more than a Bed! This is the first negative review we have EVER written!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pegasus1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchKeyWest, Owner at The Conch House Heritage Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
I sincerely regret that this guest experience was not what they hoped for. The review is so out of character for us and inconsistent that I feel it is important to respond to certain inaccuracies contained within it which simply are not true. We take great pride in our customer service, our facilities and the amenities that we provide. In particular, we have excellent air conditioning throughout the property consisting primarily of contemporary ductless units. We also have central AC and some window units, but all are the appropriate size and efficiency and we service them regularly. We serve breakfast from 8:30 to 10:00 and the overwhelming majority of our guests choose to sit outside around the pool and on the verandas. We also have an air- conditioned common living area with a dining table for 6 and assorted couches and chairs for those few guests that prefer to sit indoors. We also will deliver or provide a tray to take back to your room. Our breakfast consist of the following every day: homemade from scratch banana bread baked daily, fresh baked muffins, coffee cake, bagels and cream cheese, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cereal, honeydew melon, cantaloupe, strawberries, pineapple, fresh squeezed orange juice, tomato juice, assorted teas and gourmet Baby's coffee ground from beans. With no disrespect to Holiday Inn intended, we provide an extensive continental breakfast as advertised and much more than indicated in the review. We also provide in-room coffee makers for our early risers or those folks who enjoy a good cup of Joe anytime of day. In closing, over 91% of our reviews are very good to execllent. I cannot explain why this guest experience was so out of character for our establishment, but I wish they had voiced some of their concerns while they were here and we may have been able to make their stay more enjoyable. We certainly would have made the effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in May 2011 for the second time. The first was in June 2010. All I can say is it a first class place to stay. I park my vehichle when I arrive and do not use it again until I leave. Within walking distance of everything. The rooms are always clean and service has been spot on. The only negative I can possibly think of is if you get a room right off of Truman it can be a little noisy. I try to stay in the rooms in the back always. The pool area is awesone and relaxing. The staff is very knowledgable if you need sugestions on reaturaunts etc.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Conch House is a very familiar and friendly place. From the very first moment I felt welcome and cosy. The service is very helpful and caring. The breakfast is served at the garden - a little paradise. A place like in the fairy tale. The rooms are tiny, but full of atmosphere and clear. The Conch House is well located - I did everything by walking.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimojzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in the Delaney Suite which was a bedroom with Queen bed, a full kitchen and living/dining room area, a bathroom wih a walk-in shower, and a private back porch and yard with a resident friendly cat.

The room was comfortable and the location was good near the intersection of Truman and Duval Streets. It is fairly close to everything, not real close to anything..,

The pool was private and inviting, and when we were there it was quite warm. Breakfast is adequete we ate there two mornings and out two mornings.

A bonus for us was that there were NO ROOSTERS at 3am like there have been the past three times we were in Key West at other hotels. This is a wonderful thing.

Room Tip: Delaney Suite was spacious and nice and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobFromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My mother and I have been visiting there since 2005 along with many other friends. Going back there is like PARADISE found over and over again. We are treated like we are famly. The location is great not to far from all the main events. Friday night during the festival The Conch House participates in the cemetary crawl- in which participants "trick or treat" Key West /adult style. Our room is right off the pool, we open the door and just a few short steps away is the pool. The HOME MADE banana bread is a must for breakfast...but you can have the normal fruit, cereal, and bagels. Coffee, orange juice and tomato are also served. The staff assisst with making reservations to great restaurants, adventures and the must see and do's of Key West. Sam the owner is never to far away if needed. Just park your vehicle and walk to where ever you want to go. There is nothing like a swim in the warm pool at midnight. Before we leave we always make a reservation for next year. If you plan on visiting during Fantasy Fest...dont forget your costume.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Conch House Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conch House Heritage Inn

Property: The Conch House Heritage Inn
Address: 625 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Inn located 1.5 blocks from world famous Duval Street in the heart of the old town district. Spacious accommodations with elegant antique furnishings in the main house or enjoy a tropical poolside cottage. Guest receive the finest in native hospitality and customer service surrounded by classic Key West ambiance. 5th generation family owned. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Conch House Heritage Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing