We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, small beach, very non-commercial”
Review of Higgs Beach

Higgs Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
Ranked #41 of 168 things to do in Key West
Attraction details
Denver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice, small beach, very non-commercial”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Spent an afternoon at Higgs Beach during a recent visit to Key West. I liked the feel of the place - not touristy or a lot (any!) of little shops selling overpriced postcards and assorted schlock. Just a nice, fairly quiet place to soak up some sun and relax. The sand is not overly fine, and I suggest some type of aqua sock or little water shoe if you plan on playing in the water. There is a small little stand for snacks and beverages and a couple sand volleyball nets set up. They also rent out 2 lounge chairs and an umbrella for the day for $20. Easy (& free) parking very close by. That's about it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiggerhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    197
    121
    46
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not really worth the effort”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This "beach" was not very well kept and seems like it may be reclaimed from some former industrial site. There is a pier, but the beach proper is very rocky, hard to get out to the water. We had heard you may be able to snorkel here, but that was not the case. The water is way too murky, full of seaweed, and was very choppy (at the time we went). We have been to Fort Zachary State Park and this is a much better setting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To quote my teenager, this beach is "sketchy"... rundown facilities, lots of seaweed, and glass in sand.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I am an optimist. Yesterday I read through reviews about this beach, noting that the majority were positive. My son REALLY wanted to snorkel, and along the old pier sounded promising. I realize that weather affects clarity of water, but today was nice and just a little breezy. The water was so murky we couldn't see three inches in front of our faces, much less any fish. A local man said, "you might want to get your family out of this water; it isn't clean. There's a broken sewer pipe and it is leaking sewage." When I asked why there were not advisories posted, he said that of course THAT would affect tourism. We only stayed for an hour. Bathrooms really filthy, piece of glass in sand near where we had put our towels. I am so shocked that with such a beautiful marina area, that the city of Key West does not invest more in its small beach areas. The one at Fort Taylor was rough and rocky, but at least the shaded areas weren't Sketchy!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best beach on key west”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went to all the beaches. This was the best. You can walk on the beach and get in water without shoes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnnrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, N.H.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The beauty of a South Florida beach”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Higgs Beach is a regular stop when we visit Key West. The beach is not expansive, but it is a very clean beach, and the water is the perfect color and temperature to encourage beachgoers to take a plunge. It is so refreshing and a high point of each visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higgs Beach also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Higgs Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing