We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beach in KW !”
Review of Higgs Beach

Higgs Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
Ranked #42 of 168 things to do in Key West
Attraction details
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
323 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Best beach in KW !”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here every day and never was crowded, calm and clear water. Walk down the pier and there are stairs leading into the deeper parts where you can snorkel. Such a diverse blend of people to meet there, mostly locals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PensacolaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    197
    121
    46
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poughquag, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not the Safest Place to Go!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stopped by this beach while on a day trip to Key West. Not impressed! Two old bust band gazebo's with drunks on them. Shady looking/acting people. I didn't feel safe after staying in South Beach. Public restrooms were disgusting! Water in July was like bath water, with broken glass in the sand.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNY621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Higgs Beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not like my beaches back home but then again Key West isn't known for it's beaches. We were able to take beautiful pictures. The water was very clear. It was in the evening when we visited so it wasnt crowded. There were people enjoying a game of volleyball. There were a couple cabanas on the beach which appeared that you could have a picnic at the beach out of the sand. Most everyone appeared to be very friendly so we continued walking further down the beach. However my warning to all this beach attracts the homeless and we went to walk around the corner to go take a view from the pier and were totally turned around and went back to our car when we walked up on the local homeless arguing

L

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainet27904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better sand than Zachery Taylor park”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The chunks of coral are smaller here and some spots are coral free. Nicer on the feet! The water is shallow and clear. The lounge chairs and umbrellas are in pretty good shape. You do need to rent these but there is no entrance fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful beach! The best on Key West from what I hear. It was nice to sit back and watch the sunset along with all of the beach volleyball games and feel the ocean breeze.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kjs686s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higgs Beach also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Higgs Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing