We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Aquarium

Key West Aquarium
Book In Advance
$15.03*
and up
Key West Aquarium
Ranked #40 of 160 things to do in Key West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet the undersea residents of Key West at the island’s first attraction. With over a 100 species of fish, turtles, sharks and birds, the Aquarium features a Touch Tank where you can pick up amazing animals. The Atlantic Shores exhibit is a near the shore mangrove environment found in the Florida Keys. See stingrays, sharks, eels, lobster, tarpon, seahorses and colorful tropical fish. Feedings and tours take place at 11am, 1pm, 3pm and 4:30pm every day.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been to KW numerous times and this is always on our agenda. Great tanks with interesting marine life. If you have children, this is a great place to spend an hour or so.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kandofrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    372
    266
    96
    42
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Small fun for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a small aquariun nothing fancy. A few small tanks and a outdoor pen with some sharks. Our 8 & 9 year old boys like dit , they also were able to help feed. It was worth the 8 dollar entrance fee for the kids and we were able to use up some time before getting back on our cruise ship.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank docgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Keep your little ones close”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you first enter the aquarium there is a very nice touch tank. We were excited that our toddler could easily reach into the tank and touch several critters. The staff was very friendly and encouraged exploration (so often we feel overwhelmed by the rules and overbearing staff, but definitely not here). Imagine our surprise when our little one ran to the next tank, that was equally as accessible, only to find out it contained turtles and the next tank sharks! She just didn't understand! We were able to find many other things for her to look at and enjoy. The staff gave a very informative talk while feeding the sharks. We thoroughly enjoyed the place, just glad we didn't loose any fingers!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MomNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fun for a side trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a fun place to visit and get touchy feely with live sting rays, horseshoe crabs, and sea cucumbers. This small exhibition of sea life will only take about an hour or so to walk through and should not take the place of Sea World or a snorkeling trip. As a smaller aquarium I would rate it fair due to its depleted condition. Nice for a side trip.

Helpful?
Thank Travelguymichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced! Should be free,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The cost of entering the Aquarium was $12.00. It should have been free because they had almost nothing in there worth seeing. The highlight was the shark feeding which only happened 3 times a day. Many of their exhibits were empty. For the high entry fee there should have been more inside than some empty tanks, a few sharks and sea rays. It took us no more than 5-10 minutes to see everything this place had to offer.It was the worst Aquaruim I have ever visited and I recommend that you spend your money in better places.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWAquarium, General Manager at Key West Aquarium, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write about your tour with Key West Aquarium I was very upset to learn of your experience and encourage you to take advantage of our 100% money-back guarantee, details of which you can find on our company's website.

I would like to point out a couple of facts that you failed to mention. Your $12 admission ticket is good for two days. he Key West Aquarium has shark and turtle feedings along with a guided tour four times each day at 11, 1, 3 and 4:30 pm. There are several touch tanks filled with conchs, starfish and stingrays for kids of all ages to get their hands wet and meet our animals. We work closely with the state and local fish and wildlife authorities as our facility is a repository for animals that can no longer be returned to the wild.

Best,

Greg Gerwin
Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Key West Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing