We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boyd's Key West Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boyd's Key West Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in a tent here. Yes, the sites are cramped, as is everything in the Keys, but the site had great facilities, was right on the water (sunrise is amazing there), and the staff was nice and professional.

In response to one review complaining about the jets taking off from NAS Key West: Yes, they do fly at all times of day and night. Military jets defend us 24/7. Yes, the campground is located right across the water from the air station. There is no campground in Key West where you won't hear the jets. It just is because the islands are so small. That is the geography of Key West.

I would gladly stay there again and spend much longer there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    115
    42
    27
    24
See reviews for
97
170
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had a great time tent camping at Boyds over spring break this year! We were a chill, laid back group, and the only bothersome thing about the whole experience were the frat boys across the fence from us partying at 3am. Security told them to be quiet, however, and they were. We camped in a huge 10 person tent on an inland spot, and there was plenty of room for all 5 of us. We got lucky with a campsite next to the restroom, though, I think they were a little longer (we got site 89). It was a great place to be!

Room Tip: if you're tent camping, opt for an inland site. Let the big RVs protect your tent from the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is our second year visiting Boyd's. The first year we stayed 1 month, this year we stayed 2 months. We have no compaints and only praise for the staff and management here.
The bathrooms, showers, pool and laundry are clean and convenient. The iron and board in the laundry is another nice convience that you don't usually find at other RV Camprgounds.
I can't understand the negative reviews other than to say - some people are never satisfied.
Rent a condo and be by yourself!
We will be leaving in another 10 days and are looking forward (already) to next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We found the check-in staff extremely friendly and helpful and the place is well maintained. You will experience a diverse mix of patrons—from tents to the Prevost Bus. We parked our 45’ rig on a waterfront site—bring your best driving skills along as the sites are tight…you will most likely need to have folks move their autos in order to make the pivot. Our driver’s front slide extended fully only after the neighbor retracted his awning a few inches. Tow vehicle parking is for the most part in someone’s way no matter where you try to squeeze it in…but it a good way to meet the neighbors. The Naval Air Station is across the bay and the traffic is mostly F18’s that set up on final directly overhead—loud but beautiful to watch. The week I was there the airfield was silent after dusk and didn’t become active again until 07:45 or so.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is a nice campground with a very friendly staff. It is very crowded but this is to be expected in the keys. Not large but nice pool. Sites are small. Great tent sites right on the water.

The problem, if it's important to you is the tv cable service. It is almost inoperative. They have recently switched to Comcast, but Comcast is awaiting contracts to run complete new service throughout the park. Currently some reception posts are running 8 to 10 connections. The Comcast service individual told me he had never seen anything like it before. He said until a new contract is finalized and they can run new wires, there is nothing they can do. So as of today, Feb. 23, it will be several weeks if not months before good service is installed. Ownership and management has not even informed the front desk of the extent of the problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MmurphyIowa_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

we're the zieber's from montgomery, alabama. in response to the negative reviews we read about this site. those who made negative reviews need to sell their motor hame and rent condo's. the staff was great and neighbors, real. we are still here at site #51 and will definitely make this our permentate destination. we have visited the keys for many years and have found this to be our best expericiense ever. thank you, bill & edna zieber

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This outdated campground has tried to reinvent itself as a Big Rig "resort" without success! They assured us that they could accommodate our 43' motorhome. Well, they can.......as long as the neighbors are around to move vehicles lining up along the NARROW roads! What a price to pay for convenience to Key West! And did I mention the planes AND Air Force jets flying overhead ALL
DAY? Obviously, we will to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyd's Key West Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyd's Key West Campground

Property: Boyd's Key West Campground
Address: 6401 Maloney Ave, Key West, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Boyd`s Key West Campground Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing