We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded but worthwhile”

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.50*
and up
Day Trip to Key West from Miami
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Day Excursion to Key West From Miami
More Info
$68.99*
and up
Key West Day Trip with Trolley, Train or Water Activities
Ranked #4 of 180 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited Key West on St Patrick's day & also during the time when 3 cruise ships were in harbour. A bit of a zoo; definitely crowded until the ships departed at 5 pm.
Still, the Hemingway House is worthwhile - to see & learn about life during the time that Hemingway wrote some of his finest work. The guided tour is crowded but worth it - the guide helps the home come alive with fact & storytelling! Our guide, "Rusty" was terrific & well informed. See Hemingway's writing studio - today it would be called a man cave !! The many cats (45 in total) roam the property with ease & are all direct descendants of "Snowball" (a polydactyl - 6 toed cat) who was the resident cat during Hemingway's time there. The garden & pool area are beautiful as is the home itself.

Thank TravelsWithKECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your 5-star review!!! We will certainly pass along your comments to Rusty, he is one of our best tour guides and does an outstanding job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,853 - 9,857 of 15,165 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

It's a lovely house with pleasant gardens and our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. But it's a small house and, once your guided tour is over, you can wander around at will so our tour group was continually fighting for space with people either trying to join a tour or people who'd already finished one! Perhaps they should consider limiting number of people allowed in at one time.

Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Between the Spring Breakers and the ongoing snow storms up north, Key West is setting record numbers in regards to visitors. We do try and limit the size of the tour groups to about 25 people and run the tours every 10-15 minutes based on the amount of incoming guests at the front entrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Enjoyed learning about the author and seeing his home. 40+ cats roam the ground but pay no attention to all the tourist. Even considering it for our wedding ceremony.

Thank gaairpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your 5-star review!!! Glad you enjoyed your time here. We would love to be the venue for your wedding! If you need any information or want to check a date please contact us through our web site's wedding section. Anna, our wedding Coordinator would be happy to answer any questions for you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Love the house )) the cats are very cool and they are just laying around everywhere. The house is gorgeous and lots of history there ))

Thank Feliland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your 5-star review!!! Great to see our fellow Floridians exploring the great cities this state has to offer. Looks like you really enjoyed the cats too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Well conducted walking tour of "Papa's" house. I wish more of it was open...like what was the kitchen like in those days? However, good anecdotes of the writer and his personal life.

Thank ElleVancouver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review! We are glad you enjoyed the guided tour. We are currently working on a smart device app that will give details of the kitchen's contents including the year of the appliances, origin of the wall tile and renovation period in which Pauline took on the kitchen as a final project in finishing up with the total renovation of all the rooms in both buildings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing