We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Fun than Fact”

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.50*
and up
Day Trip to Key West from Miami
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Day Excursion to Key West From Miami
More Info
$68.98*
and up
Key West Day Trip with Trolley, Train or Water Activities
Ranked #4 of 180 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I think our tour guide may have stretched the truth quite a bit, but his anecdotes were funny. Watch for the six and seven toed cats. The one place you want to see is the gable where Hemingway wrote, except it's not open to the public

2  Thank Namellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14,722)
There are newer reviews for The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,173 - 10,177 of 14,723 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had been looking forward to this for quite some time. They close at 5:00pm and we got there at 4:35, but the lady working the ticket booth suggested we come back in the morning when everything had been cleaned. Appreciated the tip. Our tour guide was outstanding (Steve). He gave lots of information I hadn't heard and was very entertaining. I would suggest getting there early in the morning. Fewer people means less clutter in your photos! Loved the polydactyl cats and the surrounding gardens. Would recommend this site to couples, families and individuals or groups.

1  Thank Bickeybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

THANK YOU very much Rossville, Georgia for your 5-star review!!! We will certainly pass along your comments to Steve, he is one of our best tour guides and is extremely passionate about reading everything Hemingway wrote. Glad you took the recommendation to return the next morning and enjoyed the quieter setting that beautifies our first opening hours, 9-10 is a very relaxing and tranquil time of day here, bring a coffee with you and enjoy the serene setting at this vortex of literature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The tour guide made the tour very interesting. The cats were even engaging. Very interesting facts were learned about Hemingway. He was quite a character as we're his wives.

Thank onlinescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

THANK YOU very much Florida for your 5-star review!!! We are glad you spent time engaging with the cats. This is a very educational experience and one does walk away with the most interesting tidbits of facts about a member of the Lost Generation who vividly described his life and times experienced by the people he congregated with.,The results are writing that is true to life. We all, in one way or another, relive his experiences as we read his works.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This beautiful island has many attractions - bars, nighclubs, art galleries, beaches, but if you really want to feel relaxed southern lifestile come to the Hemingway Home, hidden in the wilds of a tropical garden. A great writer, a creative and eccentric person has equipped his house in his own image and likeness. The house is beautifully and variously decorated and filled with lively atmosphere and character of its owner. Approximately 40 cats of Papa Hem continue to live in his house, adding a special attraction and even some mystery to this charming place.

Thank Irandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I would reccomend this for anyone who has been to Key West before and hasn't seen this or if you're only going to be here once. We have been before but this was our first trip with our daughter so the itinerary changed a bit. This was really a very interesting and educational tour. Our tour guide was great and really included the guests.

Thank TJVO_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing