We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Expensive and non accessible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
$76*
and up
Day Trip to Key West from Miami
Ranked #4 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Expensive and non accessible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We viewed this item home from the street. It did not appear to be ADA accessible, and was too much money for what we would have been able to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebagel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the review even though you did not actually visit our museum. The Hemingway Home is ADA approved. The admission rate suppoerts the 160 year old mansion, 1-acre of lush tropical gardens, support staff of 20 full time employees and care of 45 polydactyl cats. As historical and grand as Downton Abbey but certainly not as expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,812
    3,510
    929
    132
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was the house I was interested in and it was beautiful from an architectural standpoint. It had unusual construction. The gardens and out buildings were well maintained

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 52Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your reviw. We are gald you enjoyed the architectural aspects of the home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting but not exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have done the tour once before and enjoyed the information. I thought I would try it again to see if I had missed anything. Appearantly not, the tour has not changed it is slow and nothing new.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 74inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love love love this house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From our tour guide (can't remember his name but he and his cap were awesome) to the house itself, we had a great time learning about how Hemingway and his wives lived there. I even loved the cats. I'm still figuring out how I can replicate the house if I hit lotto!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank terithecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! Glad you enjoyed the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooreville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cool house for an interesting old dude!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

He was a great writer. He had cats with six toes. He was quite an adventurer. (I think he was also likely a real jerk, too.)
Hemingway could have lived anywhere he liked, and he did spend time in a number of places and traveled almost everywhere in the world. I promise that you will know him better after the tour, just like Elvis and Graceland. Ha!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing