We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House in Key West”

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.50*
and up
Day Trip to Key West from Miami
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Day Excursion to Key West From Miami
More Info
$68.98*
and up
Key West Day Trip with Trolley, Train or Water Activities
Ranked #4 of 180 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Reviewed December 10, 2012

You gotta love this kind of stuff first. This house was so cool and kept up beautifully. The grounds were green and the pool was so cool. Our tour guide was ok. We didn't get to hear everything she was saying because there were so many of us and she didn't wait for us to come out of Hemmingway's studio. So I didn't get the full story about the swimming pool. But that's ok. I would still recommend this visit. Other tour guide Codey was very friendly.

Thank Looking-For-Tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. Each tour guide has a different personality and each has different in-depth knowledge of Hemingway, we all have a favorite book of his. We will mention the timing of segments of the tour to Mary (tour guide) to keep a keen eye for the number of guests on a tour and to try and make sure all are present before continuence of the stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14,781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,334 - 11,338 of 14,781 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our second visit to the museum, this time we took the guided tour (no extra charge). The guide was very informative and knowledgeable on all things Hemingway, from his writings to his personal life. The grounds are attractive on their own and the cats (some of which are 6-toed still) are cute, but the tour added a lot. Whether you've read his works or not, his life is an interesting story in itself. There's a souvenir shop with many of his books and little knick knacks for the House (magnets with cats on them, etc.) There's no real food for sale, though there are drink machines near the bathrooms.

Thank Davewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you very much for the excellent review! We are glad you enjoyed the tour, cats and book store. Yes, we do have soft drinks and water. We are considering having some food in the future, possibly through vending machines. Please let us know what sort of food service you would like to see us persue. Please send your comments to info@hemingwayhome.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Small, but worth the time and steep price of admission. You choose whether you take a self tour of a guided tour. Small souvenier shop on site too. Highly recommend a visit.

Thank boonutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your excellent review! Glad you visited the Book Store too. We had a guest author book signing today, Erika Robuck who wrote Hemingway's Girl. From time to time we have authors visit for book signings, hope you make it here next time for one of those. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Was very impressed on the detail and history of the tour. Good job Key West for keeping up Hemmingway's house!

Thank kspeirs514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your very positive review! We do try our best to preserve this important aspect of American History and architecture. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Enjoyed learning about Hemingway and his life. Very interesting items in his home. It is a lot of fun to see all the cats roaming about. Tour guides give you great details and try to move you through quickly so you can go back and take pictures and enjoy you favorite spots on the property.

Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and the cats. In looking at your other reviews of Key West it looks like you had a great time on your vacation. Please visit us again anytime at HemingwayHome.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing