We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hisotrical Sweetness!”

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
Ranked #4 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hisotrical Sweetness!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a MUST SEE when you are in the Keys. The house, landscape and greenery as well as the numerous polydactyl (more than 5 toes) cats were amazing and fun to experience. Our tour guide Joe was an awesome treat and really knowledgeable about the Home and Hemingway. I want to live in a replica of this house and the pool is oh so cool! :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAs_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We will pass along your comments to Joe. Thank you for identifying the tour guide by name, we love passing on reviewer's comments to the appropriate guide. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,416
    4,172
    1,088
    162
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the grounds and the cats”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a nice visit at the Hemingway house. Very interesting history and a beautiful place! I don't think it is a place that children would get much from...except for the cats everywhere...which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lorangelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the review. We do see quite a few families especially during the summer and holiday periods. The cats do seem to be a natural attraction for the children and we also offer some children's books in our gift shop that give the early reader an introduction to this literary giant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun and interesting”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

the guided tour is not to be missed. Interesting and funny, the tour guides really bring hemingway and his wife to life

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hwengier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for recommending the guided tours, they can be fun and educational.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Take the tour”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hemingway House is worth the time if you have several days in Key West. Be sure to take the guided tour (no extra charge) as you'll learn a lot about Hemingway's life and history about the House and contents. You tour the house, grounds and his writing studio. The 6 toed cats are great-45 roam the house and grounds but are fairly stand offish so won't bother you if you don't like cats. This was a nice break from the sun and Duval Street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You've gotta see it.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I mean its was Hemingway's house! It is really pretty and I loved all the kitties. The only thing is I wish they had a little more museum type info around the museum to explain things about the house and hemingway's life. There really wasn't a lot of that so it would just depend on your tour guide what kind of info you got. I would give this a 5 if it had more info. Also, it might be fun if they had something where they had all the cats on a sheet and you could find them. We went back to walk around a few days later too.

Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. In response to reviews like yours we are now in the process of adding more written information that explains many of the artifacts and pictures that are displayed in the museum. Our most recent addition is the 7 large movie posters. 15 of Hemingway's books became movies and this is an important part of explaining the fame he achieved, most within his own lifetime. Thanks again for your review, we are taking suggestions from the reviews and acting on them to better present the information about this literary legend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing