We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cat hotel!”

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Day Trip to Key West from Miami
Ranked #2 of 130 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Who knew Ernest Hemingway was a cat lady. I sure didn't. I brought my family to see this famous authors home and hear some of his rich history. The tour was lite on information and the house and grounds were crawling with cat's. Cat's on the bed, cats in the gift shops, cats roaming the grounds, cats drinking at the extra large cat fountain. If you are an "extreme" Hemingway fan with an abiding love of cats this is the place for you. Otherwise, head to Truman's little white house or the beach.

Thank 8113bm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

I am sorry for your experience here with our feline population. Most people are aware of Hemingway's love for cats and many come just to visit with the cats. I am sorry you did not know about this. If you would like to contact us at info@Hemingwayhome.com we will issue a refund to you. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"six toed cats"
in 1,074 reviews
"guided tour"
in 1,585 reviews
"his life"
in 827 reviews
"cat lover"
in 281 reviews
"polydactyl cats"
in 248 reviews
"love cats"
in 191 reviews
"writing studio"
in 176 reviews
"six toes"
in 173 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 181 reviews
"great tour"
in 633 reviews
"interesting stories"
in 143 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 144 reviews
"gift shop"
in 339 reviews
"writer"
in 597 reviews
"descendants"
in 372 reviews
"wives"
in 494 reviews
"novels"
in 240 reviews
Filter

13,519 - 13,523 of 17,029 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Not overly interesting. Short tour and pricy for what you get. The gardens however are very nice. Would not recommend unless you are a Hemingway fanatic! Seeing his bed and bathroom, some letters and pictures just didn't do it for me.

Thank mmkktt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Combine this with the Harry Truman Little White House tour for an economical history of Key West. I'd skip the guided tour of this house and just self tour and just take the guided tour of the White House.

Thank JohnEckhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. We just put up some new movie posters of the Hemingway books that became movies to help the self guided guests with information about Hemingway. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our guide Dave was a version of Rodney Dangerfield, I don't think I have enjoyed a tour that much every. He was full of information and was FUN. This was my favorite tour - thanks Dave!

Thank TamieP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you! Way to go Dave! I will pass along your comments to our General Manager so she can let Dave know about your review. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I liked the stories behind the history. I'm just not a big history buff. My wife liked it more then I did, they had 6 toed cats.

Thank Rbyers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We would like to thank both you and your wife for visiting our museum. Would love to have your wife give us a review too! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing