We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite Key West attractions”

Harry S. Truman Little White House
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.13*
and up
Harry S. Truman Little White House Admission
Ranked #5 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite Key West attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Harry Truman Little White House is an incredible stop. Not only are the grounds beautiful and lush, but it's also a great opportunity to stroll through the Truman Annex, a pristine neighborhood that I feel rivals the Hamptons. The tour guides are really knowledgeable... and interesting enough to keep little children engaged and active. Their gift shop is one of my favorites in Key West. They have great historical memorabilia and incredible novels. It has a great location because it's right next to Mallory Square, the Sunset Celebration strip, Duval, and the cruise ship ports. Definitely a must while in Key West.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alyson0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,172
    1,211
    299
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Did not realize that Truman had a Summer White House here in Key West. For top security phone calls, he used a phone booth inside the house.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gadillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Walking tour on own and missed it.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Did our own walking tour from cruise ship, down front street toward southernmost marker, amend return via DuVal street. Saw a sign with Harry Truman name but not a house like in pictures.....must have been on wrong street. Started to rain so we continued on, but wished we could have seen it.
If u really want to see the sights, could do a train tour....plenty passed us but I watched the tiny open cars go by....the way to do this island. Think they were around $70 to rent to hold 4. We were there about 7 hours so worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank momrnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“History in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

How cool was it to walk in the steps of a world leader during the most challenging time in the 20th century. This is a lovingly preserved piece of history that is a must see in a very unlikely place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour of harry Truman's Little White House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My son and I toured The Little white House while he was visiting Key West. It's such a pleasure to play tourist in your own home town! The tour guide was very informative, not only in the tour's narrative content but also in that he had ready answers to all questions asked by our touring group. The home is in amazing condition and the history within it's walls is more than captivating. Loved the poker table and the visual images of Harry and his associates gathered around for their evening card games. Great little gift shop too. I highly recommend the tour for those visiting Key west!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing