We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give m hell Harry..my buck stopped here!”

Harry S. Truman Little White House
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.13*
and up
Harry S. Truman Little White House Admission
Ranked #5 of 169 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Give m hell Harry..my buck stopped here!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Was fortunate to see a well done Florida PBS documentry on this site shortly before our visit. A great time capsule of an era. Does' nt take long to visit. Well worth seeking out. Our guide was in to it. Never know he's probably said the same things countless times. Good job.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yortele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,266
    1,237
    305
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prudenville
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great history tour”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went through here on a guided tour and our tour guide, Anne did an excellent job. Her enthusiasm for Truman and his Presidency was contagious and made the tour vey interesting. A must do in Key West.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank juneann116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Lots of historic value and always think learning more about any of our past presidents valuable information.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank touristy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
183 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“I'm Just Wild about Harry”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great old facility with lots of history. Although four other presidents were involved over the years and used this house Harry Truman started it all and the story is his. This is a guided tour. You may not see it on your own as it is still a Presidential site and the Secret Service has some jurisdiction. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job. This is one not to be missed when visiting Key West if you have any sense of history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyB871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were unsure - but so glad we took the tour!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our children ages 7 and 9 were excited to take the tour of the Little White House! Our little one loves to learn about Presidents - thanks to her terrific 1st grade teacher - so we knew we would go to the Little White House while off our Cruise ship at Key West.

We thought we would just look around outside... but we read about the tour. Candidly, my husband and I were not sure.. but the kids really wanted to do it... we even considered just sending me or him on the tour.. thinking it was not going to be very exciting or worth the money.

We decided in the end to all go. WE ARE SO GLAD THAT WE DID. The tour was incredible and is not to be missed. So interesting... our guide Bill was wonderful. This is a don't miss. We promise.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank DNaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing