We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guide and refreshing look at Truman and others”

Harry S. Truman Little White House
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.13*
and up
Harry S. Truman Little White House Admission
Ranked #5 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great guide and refreshing look at Truman and others”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our tour guide, Ann, was terrific: very knowledgeable and exuberant. the Little White House was in pristine condition with all the original 1950's furniture including Life and other magazines on the coffee tables. Great to see Truman's poker table and his piano, and luggage outside his bedroom. The ten minute video was informative and entertaining and added to the value of the tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,207
    1,220
    303
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO HATE IT....”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Well, I didn't! My husband is a history buff, so I agreed to go on the tour. Temps were raising so I enjoyed the air conditioning, but that being put aside. I REALLY enjoyed the tour. Very educational and loved the idea that presidents/ex-presidents today still visit the Little White House. Glad my husband 'twisted" my arm. Cool piece of history right in Key West.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TRIPPIN247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little know facts in Harry Truman”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a most enjoyable trip through the house. Made all the more interesting where they have restored the property, but also it is furnished with what was in the house at the times when Truman occupied it. Interestingly, and quite refreshing, the house sits on what was the old navy yard, and there is no view of the sea!

The tour through the house is guided and our guide was very knowledgable answering questions for the group, filling in with little anecdotes about the life Truman led while in Key West and also other Presidents who have stayed there since.

While the average age of persons on this group were senior citizens, former forces personnel and definitely Americans, of which we do not belong to any of these groups, we still found it absolutely fascinating to be able to walk through history.

If you like architecture this is a lovely visit to see a Floridian house with wide verandahs, and louvered shutters to keep out the heat. Parts of the house have been modernized, such as the bathrooms, for persons staying their today, but as the house was owned by the navy, everything was recorded and photographed for records, so when returning the house to as it was in Truman's day, they were able to use photographic evidence to find the furniture etc that was in storage.

Be aware the tour does involve going up and down stairs,built before code, so are much steeper than today's stairs, so difficult to enjoy if you are unable to access these easily.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England
Level Contributor
156 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and a Great Tour”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although British I loved this tour and thought the guide was excellent. It's lovingly restored and cared for. They have some great Harry S Truman tales too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swampduckgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for political or history junkies”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lots of great photos, the guides were entertaining, and a unique slice of history. Lots to be learned about President Truman.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing