We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit”

Harry S. Truman Little White House
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.13*
and up
Harry S. Truman Little White House Admission
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Day Excursion to Key West From Miami
Ranked #5 of 174 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
North Andover, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Although we have been to Key West in the past this was our first visit to the Little White House. We really enjoyed it, found our guide to be very knowledgeable and kept his political opinions to himself.
We would highly recommend a visit to this little gem.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bella349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,297
    1,248
    308
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is perfectly preserved from the 1940's and was just like going back into our grandparents house. The personalities of the Trumans were evident in many aspects of the house.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth it...even if you aren't a Democrat!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are so glad we took the time to tour Truman's Little White House. It's a little....really just a little...off the beaten Key West path, but well worth the time. We took the roughly 45 min tour with Audie as our Tour Guide...she was terrific! The highlight for me was to be able to touch the chair that JFK sat in before and after the Bay of Pigs invasion...truly a memory for me.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank krdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“got to love the history”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This house was interesting. To learn about how are Presidents relaxed and worked from this house. You would think only President Truman stayed here with its name but many Presidents vacationed here. Just the history was fascinating. Didn't know the Government and Navy owned that much land.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank peggy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a piece of U.S. history!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Besides going thru the Hemingway House and Museum, we also took the Little Truman White House tour. It is a study in contrasts. Former President Truman has been determined to be 5th in effectiveness as a president. The tour narrator included the various decisions he made while president that contributed to that distinction. It was interesting to hear about his love for people, his enjoyment of playing poker, and his wishes to please Bess (had a top made for the poker table so there was no evidence of it having been used that way the night before). I have a new appreciation for his presidency.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Park2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing