We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If you like history, old homes and antigues, you will enjoy this.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry S. Truman Little White House

Harry S. Truman Little White House
Book In Advance
$16.13*
and up
Harry S. Truman Little White House Admission
Ranked #5 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
Clementon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“If you like history, old homes and antigues, you will enjoy this.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The tour was very interesting and it is a lovely area to walk or bike. I love antiques and enjoyed the tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeresaClementon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,732
    1,067
    260
    29
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another study of the presidents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When one visits a president's family vacation home, an insight into who this man really was takes light. The tour guide was excellent. The tour was not too long and not too short, but very interesting. One should not miss this stop when visiting Key West.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank amroutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calabash, nc
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We walked around the grounds that were so pretty and they had benches to sit on and enjoy They have a gift shop inside that you can pick up White House Christmas oraments.There is a little area where you can go and see the display of information and pictures.There is also a tour you can take that you pay for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Golfcondo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Orleans
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was 16 when Harry Truman died and knew little of his presidency so my reaction to this tour really surprised me. It really is like stepping back in time. The house is preserved with the same furnishings used by President Truman. Our tour guide was so knowledgable not only about the historical facts but personal insights into Truman's character and philosophies. Midway through the tour we were taken upstairs to a viewing room to see a film. Clips showing the Truman family, Harry from infancy to his last visit to Key West in his 80's, and an overview of his terms as president - all creating an understanding of the man. Very well done in my mind and obviously appreciated by older members of our tour group who remembered President Truman and that time in our country's history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank saintthomasbound14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
483 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“love Presidential homes and libraries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Interesting contract to Truman home in Independence, MO. Much better decorated. Great stories to go with it. Definitely a sight worth seeing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing