We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never thought Truman was so interesting.”

Harry S. Truman Little White House
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.13*
and up
Harry S. Truman Little White House Admission
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Day Excursion to Key West From Miami
Ranked #5 of 175 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
conn
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Never thought Truman was so interesting.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Reluctant to go, but pleasantly surprised. Building is restored to it's original interior of Harry Trumans time, guide was great, presented a colorful, insightful picture of Trumans years here. Loved the original bamboo furniture Harry used.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,304
    1,251
    308
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boardman, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth while”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The guide was great and had alot of info the only bad thing is u can't take pictures I guess presidents and their family's still stay there time to time

Helpful?
Thank rayroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“LITTLE WHITE HOUSE - GREAT VISIT”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Whilst in Key West yesterday - we decided to visit the 'Little White House' and I have to say I am glad we did! Being interested in history we thought it may be worth a look - wow - what a surprise!
We were shown around by 'Jimmy' who has lived and worked on the island most of if not all of his life - the explanations and stories he told really made the visit for us - the place is a veritable 'gold mine' of artefacts from President Truman's time in office - but I have to give credit to Jimmy - he was absolutely exceptional (I am sure the other guides are great too).
So if you visit Key West - do take a little time to 'pop in' and have a look around - great experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bapsy3732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value and interesting history.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

You can combine this tour with the Hemminghway house, located two blocks away, for an economical history of Key West. Great tour with very informative staff and a nice gift shop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnEckhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disputanta, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband is loves history and he thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I have to say that it was interesting and I bet President Truman enjoyed his time there!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TamieP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing