We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of history”

Harry S. Truman Little White House
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.13*
and up
Harry S. Truman Little White House Admission
Ranked #5 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nice piece of history . You can check out the house for free or pay o take a tour

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,220
    1,225
    304
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not quite worth it.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Not much to see. It was slightly interesting but would not be on my to do list in the future.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historictours, General Manager at Harry S. Truman Little White House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
I am so terribly sorry to hear our tour did not meet your expectations. We do offer a 100% money back guarantee on all of our tours which you can easily access by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevierville
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Holding up five stars for this tour!!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This tour guide should be given an oscar. She was so knowlegeable and just a sheer joy to listen to.

I never knew Harry Truman but wish I had. What a gentle man and what a dear soul he was. I can see how the people of Key West hold him dear. So humble and so much history in the little white house. I think this should be a must for school aged children. It gave me a real appreciation of this president and his wife.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kittyfSevierville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We enjoyed our tour of the Truman White House. So many antiques and our guide told us some interesting stories. Didn't realize that the house was still used by the family and members of our government. Good tour.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank JudyChicagoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
479 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Stop Here, Truman did!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just a short walk from Mallory Square, the Truman Little White House is an interesting historical snapshot. You can see why Harry enjoyed this hideaway when he needed to get out of DC! Well worth the time ... the guided tour was great; David, our tour guide, really made history come alive - you get a sense of what it was like in the late 40s and early 50s.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S. Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S. Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing