We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A 4th of July to remember at Key West”

Review of Duval Sea Turtle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“A 4th of July to remember at Key West”
Reviewed August 31, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

We had a wonderful vacation at Key West. we enjoyed out stay at the Duval Sea Turtle. This is a beautiful town home that offered all the amenities needed for our stay. We never saw the staff of At Home in KEy West but that was OK because they made it super easy to get our keys and directions.
The Kitchen of the Sea Turtle was great....as were the living areas. Our least favorite thing about the Town home was the odor of the dumpters below the balconies. It was pretty bad and if you have smokers in your group they will not enjoy the outside balconies. for that matter you could not really enfoy the balconies at all.
This did not stop us from enjoying our stay and if we are back in Key WEst we will stay there again...

Thank You,

mettie hesse

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dumpsters near back patio
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a nice place to stay!”
Reviewed August 6, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

When we decided to visit Key West for my birthday this year, we were unsure where to stay. Luckily, my daughter found this unit online. It's appointed well, comfortable, and central to all there is to do in Key West on Duval Street. It's even within walking distance from Mallory Square (if you don't mind a longish walk). Dining and drinking options abound just downstairs, and you can relax in the pool overlooking Duval. Bring friends, bring family, but go and enjoy yourself. If you can't enjoy yourself here, you don't belong in Key West!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Hell in Paradise”
Reviewed August 6, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

While the Duvall Sea Turtle is a nice unit for a week in Paradise, the management is less than desirable.The unit was nice and the furnishings were appropriate.Access to Duvall St is convenient.Parking is OK but dark and dirty.

The dishwasher,washing machine, garbage disposal, and A/C units and filters are poorly maintained. All of these issues should be identified during cleaning between guest.Detailed inspections avoid stupid mistakes. Two washcloths in a unit that had been cleaned and inspected.Front door doesn't latch when closed.
Garbage disposal was full of decomposing garbage and the reset button had been tripped. We had to fix and clean in order to remove the unpleasant odor before we unpacked.

Dawn is good! However the customer service / maintenance beyond the initial check-in is substandard. After hour calls require a message to be left and are not retrieved until the next morning. A/C went out. Message left at 7:00AM. Repairs not made until 12 hours later with 90+ temp in unit. After several calls to the office and many excueses the young men from the A/C company arrived. They were very apologetic and stated if they had been contacted they would have been here first thing that morning. They stated that when At Hoime in Key West calls they leave what they are working on to take care of their customers first. It ended up needing a new thermostat and took 45 min to repair.

The balconies had not been cleaned and the furniture definitely had not had any attention. For non-spoking unit it was interesting to find several ash trays inside and outside the unit.

Overall our trip was good. The day lost due to the A/C not working was bad. However, we would have been a little more patient had the staff been a little more compassionate and honest. Ethics and integrity go along way in shaping the reputation of a business. To this day we have not recieved any communication from At Home in Key West as to whether the A/C was cooling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Place, Great Location!”
Reviewed June 10, 2009 for a stay in May 2009

The Duval Sea Turtle was very clean, spacious, and was in a great
location! I would highly recommend this property!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewed May 2, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: LOCATION
Liked least: ROOSTERS
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place except for the rooster”
Reviewed February 4, 2009 for a stay in January 2009

I hade a great time at the Duval Sea Turtle. It is centrally located and well stocked with everyday items. My only issue was the rooster that was camped under my bedroom window. He was very loud and relentless almost every morning. Perhaps he is living there temporarily. I still enjoyed the sights and sounds of KW from here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed January 21, 2009 for a stay in January 2009

Pros:
- Great Location
Close to Southern Most Beach
Great restaurants and clubs nearby
Best shopping just steps away
- Accomodations very clean and comfortable
- Friendly permanant residents
- Cutest, friendliest kittys

Cons:
- Noisy garbage trucks early in the morning
- Crowing roosters all night long
- Pool and surround not heated and in need of maintenence
- Condo landscaping has been under repair for two years. Maybe next year it'll be finished.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing