We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Annual visit to Key West..............”

Review of Beach House Condo

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
phishlove...
baltimore, maryland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Furnishings Prevent Higher Rating”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First, let's talk about the positives. This is a two bedroom two bath unit on the end of a row in Shipyard Condominiums in Truman Annex. There is one reserved parking spot to the side of the Unit. There is a deck with nice seating. The area is quiet (no trash trucks). The Unit was well maintained and clean (However, we question the amount of the cleaning fee for a unit of this size.), which went very smoothly. There is a pool a short walk through the parking lot and trash deposit is well away from the Unit. The pool "regulars" were not very friendly but we spent our time at the beach. Towels (including beach) and sheets were provided, with some limited supplies, and there is a washer and dryer in the Unit. There is wifi which is login protected. The location is very good as you can exit onto Whitehead Street from the Annex and walk almost anywhere with ease. Now the negatives. The "master suite" is at the rear of the Unit with the master bath. The tv in this room sits on top of a chest of drawers, depicted in photos, which chest is virtually useless due to its size and drawer dividers. The queen bed just about fits in the room with the side tables. The dressers (2) are located in the closet (not depicted in photos) with the HVAC, and they are small and awkward to use. The front bedroom, appearing larger, has two single beds and a nice dresser and a closet but to get to the bathroom, one has to exit into the living space. Ideally, the front bedroom should have been the master but that would eliminate the "en suite" - a design flaw not the fault of ownership. The only remedy, it seems, is to locate a chest of drawers in the main living area somewhere, which presents other issues. Our only other complaint during the stay was the running of water while bathing triggered scalding hot water. This was reported to management to be looked at by maintenance after our stay, but it is a safety issue. We "worked around" the storage issue and the water issue. We enjoyed the convenient location of the Unit, the lack of noise, and the friendliness of the neighbors in our row, not the "poolies", and relaxing on the deck in late afternoon. Again, no complaints about maintenance or cleanliness. Whether the cost of stay is justified by the design flaws and size might be open to debate. Would recommend the Unit subject to the caveats above for "flexible" travelers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We have shared your comments with the owner who takes them quite seriously and is formulating a plan to improve the storage situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoomer201...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Annual visit to Key West..............”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely condo in a gated community! 5 min walk to pool, 8 minute walk to beach.
Accommodations lovely and patio very nice. Centrally located, 2 blocks from Duval.
A lovely spot to stay in.
I would recommend to anyone, but not sure I will return to that rental....think I prefer guest houses in Key West.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“The best vacation my wife and I have had in key west.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I have been vacationing in key west for the past fourteen (14)years. This is the first time we did not stay in the hotels. The condo we rented was very Comforable and everything was ready for us to move right in. The best thing I liked about this condo was the location. We would like to stay in this same condo when we return to key west.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Location is Great”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the beach house condo. It was a very clean unit, had all the amenities we needed and a nice hot tub out back. The location is great, walking distance to everything. We were disapointed that pool would not allow grandson due to his age as we were looking forward to swimming as a family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing