We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”

Review of The Hemingway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This was our second time with at home ,we really like the location for the pool and ease of our fun spots but the lack of a bath room down stairs and the smaller bath rooms upstairs wasn't up to par .we had a great time and as allways the personnel for at home was top notch, we really liked a place in Paradice better which we rented last time. The Hemingway beds and baths are suited more for smaller people. other than that we had a great time

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewed July 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We will share your comments about the beds with the owner. Thank you for the compliment given to Libby, your reservationist, who is always available to answer any questions from our guests. We make every effort to give guests all the information they need to collect keys from our lockbox if they arrive when the office is closed, and are typically given praise for our efficiency. It sounds like we did not exceed your expectations, would always appreciate the opportunity to make it right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Va
Reviewed February 2, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice”
Reviewed March 9, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We spend one week in the Hemingway. The place is very nice. We loved to grill in the back yard. The only minus was that there is no internet connection in the Hemingway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Roaches and horrible maintenance”
Reviewed July 10, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Good location -- poorly maintained and appointed home.

They keep the roach traps on the kitchen counter!!

This home reminded us of our house in England built in the 1800s.

The young lady from at home in Key West rental agency was great. I would go there again, but avoid staying at the Hemingway.

The beds and pillows are extremely uncomfortable. The pull out bed is completely shot. Not even enough support for little kids. The springs were popping out of the mattress. You can not sleep 6 comfortably.

The hot water tank is very small and the hot water runs out quickly.

The kitchen needs serious help. Most of the counter tops are badly cracked. You would be lucky to make two place settings. Most of the china is broken and can not be safely used with children. The stove was broken, the microwave is melted, and if you like/plan to cook their equipment is thin and extremely worn out.

Watch out for the refrigerator. it will freeze and ruin your food!!

The bathrooms are a mess. Moldy shower curtains and standing water. They are tiny tiny tiny rooms. The bath towels were badly soiled. Most of them were torn or had large holes in them.

There is no internet and the TV is broken.

The pools closed early every night. They advertise 11, but it's more like 8.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Everything else
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2010
When you called our office for a last-minute reservation after our office had closed, Jennie stayed after hours to find a home for your group of 5; we appreciate you recognizing her efforts to accommodate you.

It is unfortunate that you did not contact us during your 7-night stay as many of the issues you comment on could have been fixed. Our company strives to provide our guests with exceptional guest service and respond to concerns right away. This home is reserved often and guests enjoy its convenient location and ability to accommodate 6 people.

We certainly look forward to working with you again to find a home that exceeds your expectations. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location/ poor beds”
Reviewed March 17, 2010 for a stay in March 2010

We loved the location of the Hemingway. We wished there had been chairs on
the front porch and balconies. Since we did a lot of cooking, we needed a few
more items like broiler pan and cookie sheets. The beds were hard and the
pillows were uncomfortable. The weather was wonderful so we enjoyed our
trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing