We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”

Review of Ann Street Gardens

Ann Street Gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ann Street Gardens
Front of Cottage Dining Nook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
59 reviews
Ann Street Gardens
Front of Cottage
Dining Nook
Bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Covered Outdoor Dining
Rear Covered Porch
Pool Area
Rear of Cottage Opens to Pool
Tropical Pool
Living Room
Outdoor Area
Dining Area
Shared Pool
Rear of Cottage
Pool
Queen Bedroom
Kitchen
Lush Common Grounds
Pool Backs up to Cottage
Private Patio
Sleeper Sofa
Bathroom
Parking for One Car
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Noodlecab...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Not only was this rental close to everything that Key West has to offer but it was also very clean and provided us with everything we needed for the week we stayed. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly F
Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Rental”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved the Ann Street cottage we rented. It was decorated very nice with stained concrete floor. The covered patio with grill was great. The pool I. The back was surprisely large and deep with gorgeous landscaping. Even though we were right behind Sloppy Joes the home was private and the pool area was quite and very relaxing. We will definitely be booking again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberli9...
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Key West's Best-Kept Secret”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I honestly hesitated to write this review because I want to keep it all to myself.

My husband and I are unwilling transplants, having lived in Key West until about 6 years ago. We still spend a lot of time there, fortunately, and we have stayed many places, including other properties in the Ann Street compound. First of all, the compound is my favorite place on the Island to stay. It's steps from Duval but a world apart. The Ann Street Garden property is the most amazing place. It's magical and perfect, comfortable and casual, with every possible convenience.

When I go to my "happy place" in my mind, it's this home.

Historic Hideaways is a dream to work with too. No drama, simple and easy. I adore them almost as much as this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W
1 review
“Private getaway yet in the middle of everything!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Key West was a bucket list trip for my husband & I. It was perfect!! Tim with Historic Hideaways was wonderful in making this an unforgettable trip. We've decided we will be back for a special anniversary..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyomingMa...
wyoming
1 review
“Comfy little cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is our 22nd year of staying in the Keys, 13th year of strictly staying in Key West. We stay for a little over a week so vacation rentals are ideal - not to keen on hearing housekeeping knocking on doors every morning. Check in is a breeze with Historic Hidaways. The guys in the office took good care of us. The fan in the outdoor room was broken and Tim had a maintenance man here first thing the next morning to fix it.
This little cottage has everything you will need. Nicely equipped little kitchen but I too covered up the windows with two tea towels. At night it's a clear view from the pool area into the kitchen. Could use some window coverings. Not much storage, had to put everything on top of or inside the fridge.
Wifi is in the kitchen - had to unplug it once to reboot but no other problems with it.
Nice sized bedroom and smallish bath. The cute baskets in the bathroom helped to have a place for each other's toiletries. I wasn't quite sure about the comforter (seemed to have some questionable stains...) so I switched it out for an extra one that was provided and threw the red one in the washer the next day. Nice wardrobe closet in the bedroom that had plenty of space for both of us but absolutely no other space for luggage or storage. We found a few places to tuck our bags and get them out of the way. One word of advise, if you can fit your our pillow in your luggage...do it. Lots of pillows were provided but they were ALL the hard flat kind...no fluffiness and no maneuvering for a side sleeper. That was a bummer. Hubby brought his own pillow and I swiped it every morning when he left to go fishing.
You do hear the trash guys gathering up the bottles from the night before at 4am'ish but it doesn't last long and they move on down the road...
All and all this is a comfy place. You do have the home field advantage when it comes to the pool, it is right out side the back door and you can pick your time to hang out. If you want company or quiet, you can always see who's there and pick out the sunny spots. I liked that for sure! While we were here the pool water was nice and comfy and the area was kept clean and beautiful.
It looks like there might have been a flood or something that broke up some of the beautiful concrete floor after the pictures were taken, but no biggie.
Hopefully we will be staying here again next year...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, I walk everywhere while we're here and we love the restaurants located in this area.
Liked least: The bedding and the bed. That stuff could use an upgrade and coverings for the kitchen window.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam F
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location. LIttle storage space. Pool needs heat in October”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in this little cottage two years in a row. LOVE how close it is to the fun stuff in old town. The kitchen is so tiny as to be unusable. But who cooks while on vacation? We love the private covered deck.
There are a couple problems: The queen size bed is sort of hammock like, and the duvet cover hadn't been changed. I can only hope it gets washed periodically.
There isn't much hanging or storage space for luggage and clothing (a single armoir in the bedroom, not closets anywhere). The under bed space has boxes of extra linens for the service staff to get at.
The WiFi password hadn't been changed. My tablet and phone logged right in when we arrived for our second visit. There is off street parking for a single car. We didn't use if beyond the first day, otherwise we got around on bicycles.
A nice little space for a couple. Though there is a sofa bed, for an additional couple people, this would only work for VERY good friends, as the one bathroom is though the bedroom.
The bathroom is tiny, but serviceable. If you're looking for somewhere to spread out, this isn't it. But if you want privacy, check it out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nearness to Duval St and Mallory Square.
Liked least: The mattress!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary W
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this cute rental in an ideal location”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

When we first arrived at Ann Street Gardens, it was love at first sight. The pool area is amazing and the location is literally one block off Duval.

The highlight here is the private outdoor covered area and the pool area. As fas as the interior space... It is small but well equipped. Before you go shopping check under the kitchen sink for past tenants left overs. Laundry Detergent, Dryer sheets , etc. There is also a cabinet under the flat screen TV that has various sunscreens, light bulbs, etc.

Bathroom, Off the bedroom. The tub is in advanced stages of peeling and discoloration. I tried spray bleachh to no avail. I was disappointed. We also ran out of bathroom tissue two days prior to leaving. No back stock that we were aware of. Just went to CVS at 12 Duval. I was not calling management for tissue paper. Awkward call right? They musst estimate usage.

Otherwise the pictures are accurate..

What you neeed to know:

Directly across the street is City Hall and the Visitation Center. The electronic gate to employee parking lot is non stop. You hear it beeping opening an closing all day, even in the pool area.

The Conch Tour Trolley Drivers park across the street on their breaks often.

Every morning, beetweeen 5 and 7 you will hear the bottles from the city being crashed and dumped. Even wiith windows closed and with A/C, its loud.

City Hall is ccurrently being repointed. The machinery is quite loud.

Several surrounding Streets are getting new sidewalks , especially Caroline. It's loud.

Other things of note you need to understand:

Ann Street says no one under 16 is allowed. However, a couple of other properties pay an association fee to use the pool outside the unit and I believe this is for the laundry as well.
Sure enough, the loud grandkids of the neighbor checked in last night and adds more noise to the area.

Ann Street is a very short one way street, one block off Duval. The drunks love to argue outside, scream, hollar and use the property rubbish can in the driveway to empty the bottles. There is a quiet time between 10-1. Then it gets interesting until 4 in the morning, yes 4. If this is for you, knock yourself out.

Property Issues:

Three days before leaving, we noticed loud noises in ceiling. Something was living in there! Management was great they responded immediately, butt was somewhat disappointeed that we were expectted to stay at the property to let them in. Theu closed up some lare holes in teh exterior.

Internet: Two days before leaving we lost ttelevvision and internett. Again, management was great, but had to stay at property to let tech guy in. More time. The bill apparently, was not paid.

Other internet issues:

Ignore Network names and passwords given at offfice and in Binderf at Unit. They do not work. Go in the kitchen, look at the router and use all that information.

All in all, we did have some nice afternoons at the pool and relaxed, jusst not sure we will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and covered area
Liked least: noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing