We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in Every Way, but Location for Us”

Review of Poinciana House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pam F
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way, but Location for Us”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week, and absolutely loved this little cottage, though we really only used the back half of it. The house is steps away from the side gate of Hemingway House and the Six Toed Cat cafe. We had bicycles delivered there by Eaton Bikes, and found we really needed them to get to the places we tend to spend the most time at in Key West.
The house is divided into two parts with a door between. The front room, which has the bedroom, a nice sitting area, very tiny TV and full bath, and the "great room" which has another bed, hidden behind a counter, a nicely furnished kitchen area, a dining table, another full bath, a larger sitting area with loveseats, a recliner and another TV. There are blinds on all the windows for privacy. The great room has French doors that open onto the covered terrace and large (for Key West) pool, with a lap lane running down the side of the property. There is a "sunning porch" on the roof of the terrace, with a spiral stair that leads up to it. Note: the Pool Man showed up while we were still in bed Monday morning, and before he left, I asked when he’d be back – Thursday – so we could be sure to have the blinds drawn that morning as well. He gets there at around 8 am. He was very quiet and I almost didn’t realize he was there, except I saw movement outside just before I stepped onto the terrace, au naturel.
We've previously noted that shaded swimming pools are rather chilly to enjoy in October, so we paid the fee to have the pool heated during our stay. That was the best choice we could have made. We used the pool daily, and more. Not bothering with suits because of the privacy fencing.
The one issue we noted was that the air conditioner for the larger great room wasn't quite as effective for the large space, as we would have liked, but it did reduce the worst of the heat and humidity for the area. I moved a side table that was in front of the window unit when we arrived, which seemed to help.
Nevertheless, we spent most of our down time at the cottage, relaxing at the table on the terrace. Enjoying coffee and catching up online, or in the pool.
On a couple afternoons, we could hear the residents of an apartment, Top of Duval, behind the cottage, enjoying their pool/outdoor space. But it didn't last too long and was no more disturbing than neighbors at home would be. Another locals’ apartment overlooks the terrace from the side, but we noted that it was empty during the day, and blinds were drawn at night. On our last night (Saturday), there was a band playing at Bogarts, on the outside terrace of the Casablanca Hotel. The acoustics between buildings funneled the amplified music right out onto Olivia St. We could hear it loud and clear in our front bedroom, and out on our terrace, but it was less loud in the great room.
We were closer to the Southernmost Point than in previous years, so we did explore more places at that end of the island than we have in the past.
After returning home, we realized that we ended up being less spur of the moment, when we went to the north end of town. We'd make a plan to hit this and this and this place, before returning. When we stayed off Ann St. we'd wander here and there, then back to the cottage, then go out and come back. Navigating the gate with a bicycle took a bit of practice, and it was easy keep our bikes behind the locked side gate, so we didn't have to fuss with cables and locks once "home."
That said, it was always marvelous to return and have a dip in the pool on a hot afternoon. Poincianna House is perfect for a couple. Or it would also work well for two couples who were very good friends. They'd be best served to choose sleeping spots based on who wakes up earliest. Those folks should take the great room bed.
The house isn't new, and walking in, you definitely notice that "Florida smell" but this isn't a high end hotel, it is a restored, old home. For folks who want to be at the southern end of Duval, Poinciana House is a gem, for those wanting to be closer to The Square, not so much. You've got to weigh priorities. We’ve learned that to get a cottage with a private pool, there really isn’t anything available nearer to the north side of the island. We loved this little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private, heated pool!!!
Liked least: The distance from Mallory Square
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
luvliife
Bunker Hill, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 days in this property and hated to leave. So conveniently located, yet you felt like you were pretty much away from the rest of the world. The home was built in 1929 and remodeled, yet the owner retained some of the charm of an older home. The grounds were well maintained and beautiful. We found the house to be stocked with everything that we needed when we arrived. We so enjoyed the pool!! Anytime we would go out on an excursion, we would look at each other and say "let's go back to the house for awhile!" Tim was friendly and wonderful to work with as our booking agent. Even though this home does have 2 queen beds, I think you would have to choose a couple that you know extremely well if you would want to rent this home with another couple. We can't wait to go back~will definitely rent this home again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and landscaping; the location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreqTrave...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise right near everything!”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures aren't misleading - this place is fantastic! I felt as though I spent a week in paradise. We spent much of our time on the pool and porch during the day and went up to the rooftop to watch the stars at night. Although you're right near "everything," you feel that you have privacy because of the fence around the property. I definitely would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool is wonderful!
Liked least: The washer and dryer are outside, but who cares - everything else was great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique M
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved this rental home. The pool and upper deck are worth it alone. Very spacious for two. Close to everything, very centrally located off Duval.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, upper deck
Liked least: Needs a king size bed!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billie D
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Key West sanctuary”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I will just cut to the chase; I have already booked the sanctuary for November 2014. I have stayed at other nice places in KW but I love the privacy of the village, the house with private pool and upper deck, and the yard shared only with the wildlife. If you do not care for green iguanas, small aggressive lizards, roosters crowing at all hours, birds, tropical trees and flowers, and locals in the village than this may not be the place for you. This is becoming one of the last areas that has not lost the charm of a Key West lost. I did not want for anything. Easy check-in/out, Tim and Wade were very accomodating, and location, location, location. My home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, pool, privacy, and location.
Liked least: Management accepts packages which I appreciate but I would like to be able to return packages through the office even if a fee was charged for the convenience; but no big deal.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamsTrave...
Casselberry, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I decided to rent this vacation rental for 7 days, and it was worth every penny! We have been to Key West a few times before, but this was by far the best stay. The heart of the house is the backyard oasis which IS as amazing as the pictures show. We spent countless hours lounging in the shade on the deck, swimming in the gorgeous (pristine!) pool or lounging in the one person hammock chair. We travel all over from Europe to the Caribbean but this was by-far one of the most relaxing trips we've ever done. Not to mention, we parked our car on day 1 and didn't start it up again until 7 days later. We walked a few steps out the front door and you're literally on Duval Street!! Simply amazing. We will definitely be returning to vacation rentals with Historic Hideaways and the Poinciana House again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, and Location!
Liked least: We are a couple so this wasn't an issue for us, but I could see how the bed setup might be uncomfortable for two couples visiting.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing