We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is one of the nicest Best Western's I've ever stayed in. The rooms are beautifully updated and the courtyard with pool was an added surprise Also, it is only one block off of Duval St. and is within walking distance of many great clubs and restaurants. I will definitely stay here on my nest trip to Key West.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    862
    150
    45
    29
See reviews for
649
855
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monclova, ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Well located hotel. Walking distance to most sites ( key west is 1.5 x 4 mi), or can take a trolley that stops close to hotel ( aarp discount) . Great restaurants nearby- local- Camilles, chain- Margaritaville. Rooms spacious, extra hooks for wet suits etc. Nice pool. Breakfast area cramped. Nice selection of breakfast fare- waffles, breakfast sandwiches etc. Internet in rooms sporadic. can get good reception in lobby. Can walk to quiet end of key west after crazy noisy crowd near Mallory Square. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked the Best Western Hibiscus based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We were more than happy when we arrived. We had a late check in and the front desk clerk was very nice and check in was very quick. We loved the room set up and decor. We couldn't find another hotel even close to this price point and as close to Duval. Pool was refreshing during the day and relaxing after dark. Breakfast is your usual bagels, cereal, muffins, and biscuits and gravy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We always try to stay at a Best Western hotels. We have always found them to be just as we expect, clean and comfortable. We would highly recommend the Best Western Hibiscus Motel in Key West to anyone that is looking for a place to stay that is quite and within walking distance to just about everything. I am 57 and my husband is 61 and we walked everywhere, usually 5 to 6 miles a day. The breakfast was enough for us to get our day started, didn't need a huge meal and get out in the heat. If we ever come back to Key West, this will definitely be where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My travelling companion was not feeling well when we arrived in Key West late afternoon without having booked accommodation. We were fortunate in finding a room at this Best Western which is centrally located. Our room was on the ground floor next to the pool and very close to the area where the continental breakfast is served. The breakfast could be enjoyed indoors or next to the pool. One is able to walk to most of the tourist attractions including Hemingway's house, Audubon House and Tropical Gardens, The Lighthouse, Duval Street, and Mallory Square.
The staff members were helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor next to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chasevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Location is the key! We think we've got the best in town.......good to know others agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel has spacious rooms and nice pool area. Nice TV and internet available. Staff is very nice. The breakfast are is a little small but okay. Can eat at the pool area if no tables are available inside. One street over from Duval and near the southernmost point. Bike rental is a block away. There is also a 24 hour CVS 5 blocks away. Overall great location and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hemingway Days is one of our favorite festivals here in Key West. Good to know our guests enjoyed their visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a King suite because we wanted a separate sleeping area for my grown son. The arrangement worked perfectly. He had the front sitting area --- futon that he said was very comfortable and we had the bedroom --- each with TV and bathroom access. A galley hallway from the front area to the bathroom included a second sink, mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. When we walked in, my first impression was that the furnishings were a bit sparse, but it really worked out fine. We had everything we needed. The breakfast was decent. Staff friendly and quick to respond. The pool was beautiful and the best part of it was the location---about a mile to Mallory Square, a block from Duval Street, 3 blocks from the beach. There were no hidden costs like parking or resort fees. I definitely would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PSLPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Great to know that we met your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing