We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome location for the price”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here in July for our wedding, and we had 24 other guests stay here, as well. Everyone seemed to be very happy with the accomodations overall. They allowed us to swim late night, but after midnight, an older gentlemen kindly asked us to return to our rooms. There is a convenience store across the street (although pricey), and a liquor store about a block away. the breakfast each morning was good for a continental breakfast. I enjoyed the breakfast burritos and sandwiches that were available, as well as fresh fruit and yogurt.
My only complaint is that the pool was sooooo hot!!! There is also a hot tub, which saw absolutely no use during our stay, because the pool was at least 100 degrees, I'm not exaggerating. There was nothing refreshing about being in a pool that is warmer than the humid, July Florida air....I had to go take a cold shower in my room to cool off. I would definitely suggest they put a chiller on the pool, and clearly label the hours that are acceptable to be in the pool.
The location was unbeatable for what we paid. The Southernmost Beach Cafe and beach were a favorite destination for us and our guests, and it's only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The Southernmost Point buoy is also only a short walk. Scooter rental is around the corner, and Duval street is only one block away as well. If you're looking to stay somewhere reasonably priced, but don't really care much about an oceanview or completely decked out hotel room, within walking distance of many bars/restaurants, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    951
    167
    47
    34
See reviews for
734
955
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. One block from Duval St. and half the price of most hotels in the area. The room was spacious, clean and recently updated. The pool and spa were wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay close to the action but not pay an arm and a leg for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrowsburg, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I checked in Saturday afternoon. There was minor confusion since the reservation was in my friends name, who wasn't arriving for another three hours. The desk staff quickly figured it out and sent me off to the room. The room was very large, easy for two guys to share. The courtyard pool area is beautiful. There were people from all over the world staying there. A lot of families, groups travelling together, etc. The breakfast is minimal, but adequate. Very nice that they provide free internet access. The entire staff (housekeepers, maintenance, desk clerks) were extremely friendly and helpful. Located a block off of Duval, it is within walking distance to just about everything. The place is clean and relatively inexpensive. This was my second stay at this property, and I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can stand the heat and humidity, go during the off season. You'll save a bundle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Glad you had a great visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first stay in Key West so we decided to go with a name brand hotel, despite the lure of all the quaint "Key West-style" accommodations. The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of all that Key West has to offer. The room was large, comfortable and spotless. This is the first hotel room I have ever stayed in that had tiles on the floor instead of dubiously clean carpet, which was a plus in my eyes - at least I could see how clean the tiles were. The room had two very comfortable queen size beds, a small table with two armchairs, a desk and chair, great TV, fridge, microwave, single-serve coffee machine, TWO sinks, a quiet-flushing toilet, and a shower that was simple to operate. We had four adults staying in the room and we did not feel crowded. The price was also quite reasonable by Key West standards. The continental breakfast was satisfying with hard-boiled eggs kept warm in hot water, sausage gravy and biscuits, pre-made waffles for toasting, yogurt, fruit cups, and the usual other breakfast items. The pool looked clean and inviting but we did not have time to check it out. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We only stayed one night but did not find a single thing to complain about. You do have to look carefully for the name of the hotel when you are first arriving. Do not hesitate to book this hotel if you are even considering it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new port richey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

over all great place. close enough to duvet,far enough away from the drunkin idiot ignorant tourist at green st. i would recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a good time in key west. but not sleep were the drunks are.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel was gorgeous, it was cheaper to stay here close to duval st, then to stay at another chain hotel 3 miles up the island, amazing! we wanted to stay at a chain hotel we're not too keen on private resorts, also because they are way more expensive. I couldn't believe how nice this hotel was, the people are so friendly and helpful!! would and WILL stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Panne, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good quality hotel near Duval Street ; good rooms and very nice pool area. Everything you need when you are in Key West and you do not want to spend a huge amount of money to be in a resort. We stayed there two nights, and will definitely return if we go back to Key West.

Room Tip: It's always nice if you can have a room with a view on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1971Geert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
872 reviews
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Property: Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing