We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Saint James, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Expensive stay, but all of the places in Key West are expensive. The staff was very friendly and let us keep our car parked ther for most of the day that we checked out. The room that we booked had a small kitchen and was clean and comfortable. You are 2 blocks to the southermost point and close to scooter rental and trolley line. We did walk to Hemingway house, about 8 blocks, but if you wanted to walk to Mallory square, put some walking shoes on!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    862
    150
    45
    29
See reviews for
649
855
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Very spacious, clean room. Comfortable beds. Short 20 min. walk to most attractions. Free parking in large lot. Breakfast area didn't have many tables so ate by the pool. Nice size heated pool. Front of building near lobby needs painting but our room had been re-modeled. Not a fancy hotel but met our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryland_traveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. It is important to us to know that our guests are happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ga
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Paid $319 for 1st night, $326 for 2nd night, plus tax. Rude patron at the pool, frightening men in room next to ours. Not as conveniently located as advertised. Comfortable bed, not the best towels, no room service, went to front desk & was told I should have called rather than just show up for needed service. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Better prices & more convenient locations readily available.....with, hopefully, less rude patro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n0t_0ne_t0_c0mplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Yes there are lots of properties in Key West but last minute bookings will always get a higher rate than if you book early - in Key West. Our rates are competitive within the area of downtown Key West and usually we are lower. Our housekeeping staff is available until 9 p.m. so not sure what the problem was there but we will certainly discuss it in our next staff meeting. Thanks for letting us know about your stay. Hopefully if you ever come back to Key West you will find the property that is just right for your needs. Postings like this help us to get better in the product we provide to our guests. So thanks for taking the time to post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked a room for December in April. Had to pay for the first night of three immediately. Arrived at the hotel and told we were upgraded! Great! From a King room to two queens over looking and hearing the pool filter. Asked for a room change. Were told nothing available. Room stunk of mold, burns in the carpet. A hot mess. Next day after coming back from a prepaid tour around 6pm, we asked for another room. Was told no as the cleaning staff had gone home and they would not be able to re sell the room we were in! Wow. That sums up this property. Rita the clerk, who was quite upset with me on the third day because I dare question how this hotel is a Best Western PLUS finally had to deal with me because luckly I made it to the desk during the cleaning staff hours. She finally gives me a couple keys to check out other rooms. I found a renovated room on the first floor. But the other three rooms I check out are just as bad as the first. Worst hotel stay in my life. Rita who was dressed in a ball cap complete with fishing hook, was the worst customer service employee I've ever encountered. Not a cheap hotel. Thanks for tarnishing my trip to Key West.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lazytraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are sorry that we failed to meet expectations. Sometimes on a property as small as ours it is difficult to move guests however we certainly would have tried to find you a room somewhere else more suitable to your needs. Moving a guest has nothing to do with selling a room but everything to do with making sure the guest is happy. A rude desk clerk is unacceptable. If the clerk cannot give what is demanded, please don't mistake that for rudeness. Our clerks want to help and they do when they can. No matter where you go, Best Western or otherwise, please don't stay in a room that you are unhappy with under any circumstance. If the clerk can't help, ask to leave and go somewhere else. Please don't stay in a room for 3 days when it is unacceptable. There are always options. We will release the reservation if the guest is unhappy at check in and I am sure most other properties will too. Our clerks will help you find other accommodations. We don't want unhappy guests. We have posted this before and we stand by it. We want you to be happy in Key West. And if a ball cap offends, sorry we sometimes have a casual day just like other businesses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
3.0 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing