We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE QUIET, CLEAN HOTEL IN A GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a second floor room partially overlooking the small parking lot at the side of the property. Not the best room in the house (like those overlooking the pool) but quiet, large, comfortable, clean and fairly newly refurbished. The half-height plantation shutters were good for adjusting the light/privacy as necessary. The pool was very nice and the last of the evening sunshine could be enjoyed on the east side. The main problem with this hotel was the very limited space in the breakfast room, which was an extension of the reception/lobby area. Some people had to eat outside on the terrace around the pool because they could not get a table indoors, OK in fine weather but a bit inconvenient if it's raining or cold. This wasn't the cheapest hotel in the 'old town' area and I think it's value for money was marginal, I certainly wouldn't pay any more for the room we had...... I think we had the room on the outside as we were two guys sharing, this often seems to happen to me perhaps because the person allocating the room thinks a man will not demand a better room whereas a women probably would! I think the place was pretty full judging by the number of people trying to have breakfast. The housekeeping staff seemed quite noisy while doing their work, lots of shouting and loud conversations on their walkie talkie radios. I've marked the individual aspects of the hotel based on my own experience, ie. outside room, small breakfast area etc. I would stay here again because of the location and the pool.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms overlooking the pool were the most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotthedog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Our housekeeping staff works very hard to offer our guests a clean and inviting room. The last few postings have noted this and I am so proud of the staff. Thanks for recognizing them for the hard work they do! TA postings help us to excel. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,453 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Large size room, very clean. Large warm pool and hottub. Good breakfast. We just stayed there one night beause we were renting a cottage for the rest of our time, but might consider staying there longer on our next trip. Checked in early with no problem. Don't believe there is an elevator, so the first floor was the best option with a week's worth of luggage. AARP discount made it reasonable by Key West standards. It is not a pampered luxury type of hotel, but for people like us who rent bikes, walk all over town and are very self-guided in terms of hanging out in Key West it was a good fit. (Having nothing to do with the Hibiscus, but if you like craft beer go to The Porch at Caroline and Duval. Happy hour 4:30-6:30.(1630-1830 hours))

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed one night (Saturday) in a suite over the front office area which had a living area in addition to the bedroom. The bedroom overlooked the swimming pool and was quite spacious. Just outside our door was a nice patio with tables and chairs in which to enjoy a glass of wine while soaking in the sun. The motel is close to old town (Duval Street, etc.) and very close to the Southernmost landmark, which is a popular place to take pictures. The butterfly conservatory is about a block away and worth a visit. Love the free parking at the motel - just park once and walk. Oh, and it's one of the few places that doesn't have a minimum two-night stay during busy season.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one-bedroom suite and was large enough for four people. The modern "couch"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SageWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Can't say thank you enough! We really appreciate all of our TA postings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Husband and I spent 2 nights at this hotel. The room was a little dated but clean. The "FREE" breakfast was great. Nice pool, WIFI. The best part was we were within walking distance to Duval St. and Mallory Square. Great Value for individuals or families that are looking for an inexpensive alternative to the larger hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our group of 15 rented 4 rooms and had an amazing time. The hotel was great and the staff was even better. It is one street down from duval and right near the southern most point. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank avianguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thanks everyone, we appreciate your great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. The whole place seemed to just have been repainted and looked nice in general. Breakfast was good compared to american standards. The pools where good and we spent considerable time there. Free parking. Beautiful old town Key West in walking distance or sometimes we took a pedicab back to the hotel in the evenings. The only con with this place was that the very rude and unfriendly lady at the front desk when we checked in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerker Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our forth stay at the Best Western Hibiscus, we keep going back, it's like going home!! The great pool. excellent rooms, helpful staff, handy breakfast and a great location find it hard to beat. It's location on the South end of town, one block from Duval street and just about a mile to Mallory Square gives you easy access to all to all the great shops, restaurants and bars that Key West has to offer. There is a public beach at the end of Duval Street that rents chairs and Cabanas and also has a restaurant if you need a snack. Park your car if you drove, rent a bike, get a two day pass on the Trolly or take a walk around town to get a feel of one of the truly memorable towns in USA.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms near the pool are very nice. Two story motel with no elevator may be a challenge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,808 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $181 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing