We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra Clean Hotel in the Middle of the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ultra Clean Hotel in the Middle of the Action”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We decided to add Key West to our stay in Florida, once we got there we noticed that few rooms were available and prices were pretty high. The cleanest place with 1 room left was the Best Western, at $270/night for a double bed basic room we decided to book it. The pool was heated and jacuzzi was nice although small and always crowded by the same people. These guys jack up pricing when few rooms are available which is one thing I did not expect from a big chain such as Best Western, anyhow, Key West is awesome, we had a blast and Best Western added to the experience. Oh yeah, and continental breakfast was included and not bad either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamyBoy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    952
    167
    47
    34
See reviews for
735
956
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalundborg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Why not excellent, you may ask? The cleaning was not perfect, to say the least. The floor was somewhat swept and in fact so dirty that we had to lay towels on it to walk from bed to bathroom. Pure black... Wash the floor ladies!!!
The rest, even the limited space at breakfast was just fine and one cannot beat the location.
Not cheap in Febr. because that is high season but worth the money.

Room Tip: We took facing the swimming pools, some rooms face parking lot, not so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedanishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate your time in posting here. Thanks so much for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a very well kept and clean place. Rooms are large. The breakfast has significant variety, which changes somewhat from day to day. The front desk sells tickets to the on-off
"trolley" tour. You can catch it less than two blocks away.
The motel is located in an area that is residential enough that it is possible to take a relaxing walk to the ocean in the early morning or evening without traffic or pedestrian congestion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye42_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located a block away from Duvall Street, on the southern end of the island, away from the craziness of the cruise ship crowd around Mallory Square. Tons of restaurants to choose from.
The major sites are in walking distances, so once we parked the car, there was no reason to get back in, except to get back.
The hotel has been updated recently, and all of the furnishings appear to be brand new. Very comfortable. The staff was very friendly.
The only negative was the water quality of the hot tub. It didn't look very clean. I wish people would bathe before getting in!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spend 4 nights here in Feb. 2013. The location was great for us. We were just one block away from the Trolley stop and in walking distance to the Southern Most Point, the Butterfly Conservatory and La-te-da's. The room was large and very clean. We were right on the main floor pool side and found it very quiet. There was a continental breakfast in the morning and we tried it a few times but ended up going out for breakfast. In the past we had stayed right in the centre of Duval Street in a B&B but found this so much better. The room was very nice and big and we didn't find it hard to get around at all. We even walked down to Sloppy Joes from the Hotel and found it a nice walk. Would for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed main floor poolside and it was nice and quiet. Don't let the location turn you away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverManitobaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location - a few minutes walk from Duval Street and the Southern-most point and approximately a 20 minute walk from the Key-West Ferry Terminal. The room was clean and comfortable (and surprisingly spacious) and came with a fridge and coffee maker. We had no trouble parking near our room. Would absolutely recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PJice9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was situated a very short walk from the Southernmost Point. Easy walk to Duval street. The staff was very friendly and the room was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Breakfast was standard fare, but my wife and I wanted to try local places, so that wasn't important.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
872 reviews
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Property: Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing