We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located a block away from Duvall Street, on the southern end of the island, away from the craziness of the cruise ship crowd around Mallory Square. Tons of restaurants to choose from.
The major sites are in walking distances, so once we parked the car, there was no reason to get back in, except to get back.
The hotel has been updated recently, and all of the furnishings appear to be brand new. Very comfortable. The staff was very friendly.
The only negative was the water quality of the hot tub. It didn't look very clean. I wish people would bathe before getting in!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    934
    164
    47
    33
See reviews for
718
937
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spend 4 nights here in Feb. 2013. The location was great for us. We were just one block away from the Trolley stop and in walking distance to the Southern Most Point, the Butterfly Conservatory and La-te-da's. The room was large and very clean. We were right on the main floor pool side and found it very quiet. There was a continental breakfast in the morning and we tried it a few times but ended up going out for breakfast. In the past we had stayed right in the centre of Duval Street in a B&B but found this so much better. The room was very nice and big and we didn't find it hard to get around at all. We even walked down to Sloppy Joes from the Hotel and found it a nice walk. Would for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed main floor poolside and it was nice and quiet. Don't let the location turn you away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverManitobaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location - a few minutes walk from Duval Street and the Southern-most point and approximately a 20 minute walk from the Key-West Ferry Terminal. The room was clean and comfortable (and surprisingly spacious) and came with a fridge and coffee maker. We had no trouble parking near our room. Would absolutely recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PJice9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was situated a very short walk from the Southernmost Point. Easy walk to Duval street. The staff was very friendly and the room was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Breakfast was standard fare, but my wife and I wanted to try local places, so that wasn't important.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weldon, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. With it's central locations it was easy to catch the trolly and within walking distance of down town. We had a good time in Key West and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank KRISTINA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

While on a family vacation I stayed at this place which was a recommendation from a family friend. Great find. It was easy to get to and has parking which I understand is rare for a hotel in Key West.

The people at the front desk were funny and welcoming and noted that there are a lot of Canadians who frequent this place - I guess it's definitely word of mouth.

The one negative is the location - there are a few restaurants nearby but otherwise it's a bit of a hike away from the action. Definitely doable, but something to consider.

That was the ONLY negative. Everything else was great - the rooms are large and very clean. Our room smelled like bleach, the AC kept things comfortable, and there was a flat screen and bar fridge handy for whatever you wanted to put in it. Everything was freshly painted (in the rooms as well as throughout the hotel) and there were 4 big beach towels to use for the pool. Wifi was everywhere (I think there are 7 different networks to ensure a good signal throughout the building).

The pool - it was also clean and had a lot of nice tables and chairs (and umbrellas) around it. It was also nice and warm, as was the hot tub.

Breakfast in the morning was fine - typical continental, with some pre-made breakfast sandwiches. It was nice to grab something and eat it out by the pool. Very pleasant.

The thing that I liked best was the crowd it attracts. Generally older people, we didn't see any kids, quiet and pleasant. It was nice to lounge around in the pool with my sister without being creeped out by greasy guys working on their tans or girls there trying to pick up the aforementioned grease balls (sorry, I guess the Vegas experience haunts me).

This is a great place to stay while in Key West.

Room Tip: Bottom floor may be a bit noiser with the proximity of people sitting by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singleselfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you want to stay at a relatively quiet place within walking distance of Duval Street in Key West, this is the place to be! I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The lobby (& BF area) is a bit small and frontdesk staff could be a bit more courteous, but the rooms are spacious. Modern, tropical decor (no carpet, very clean) with comfy beds, 2 comfortable chairs, separate vanity and modern, well kept bathroom and in-room safe (use ncluded in your resortfee). Airco is so quiet you can actually leave it on at night!!

Most of the rooms are situated around the pool (there are a couple of non-poolview rooms available: they are cheaper, but looked quite dark) and that gives a bit of a resort-like feel. Unfortunately, during our stay some guests found it necessary to 'reserve' their loungeseats by leaving their towels on it .. The breakfast area is tiny and the foodchoice is a bit limited (microwave waffles?!). It is a bit of a hassle to get through the BF-area with all your luggage on check-out.

Location is great: everything KW has to offer is within walking distance, including the Southernmost Point. This hotel is not cheap, but all hotels in KW are expensive. I would prefer this one to the (oceanview) hotels on N&S Roosevelt Blvd, 'cause if you stay there you'll probably need your car OR take the trolley to get to downtown (Old Key West). NOTE: upon reservation, you'll be charged with 1 or your first nights stay, which is a bit unusual. Try to make your reservation as early as possible for a better rate BUT check the rates once in a while or just before you go, but sometimes they'll go down!

Room Tip: Spent a few more $$ and go for a poolview room, you'll enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anika43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing