We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms are very clean and large. They have a very nice pool area and the pool is open until midnight. Pool towels are provided in your room. The beds are softer than we prefer but their appearance was worse than the actuality. We had two queen beds and chose to sleep separately so we didn't roll to the center. The bed I slept in had a visible dip in the center but didn't feel that bad when sleeping. My husband has a back problem and a firmer bed would have helped him.

Breakfast is provided but the breakfast area is small and cannot accomodate everyone. They have a variety of items: muffins, bagels, variety of bread for toast, cereal, yogurt, fruits, juice, coffee, and a rotating hot choice such as waffles, sausage, egg, and cheese biscuits, or biscuits and gravy. One problem we had during our stay was the coffee machine was not working properly and was down on two mornings in a row. Management needs to correct that problem!

They also have free wi-fi, if you are able to access it. Each area of the motel seems to be on a different hook-up but none of them have a strong signal. My Ipad was constantly trying to update and was not able to keep up. If you absolutely need access, this may not be the place for you. I got frustrated with the situation regularly and finally gave up.

The location is great as long as you are able to walk or have transportation. It is located in the southernmost area so is a bit of a walk to the more active end of Duval St. or to Mallory Square. We did it several times, however, so it is quite doable. We also used the Old Town Trolley to learn a bit about the town but more as a means of transportation so we didn't have to walk all the time. There is a stop a block away.

Overall, this was a great choice. It was more reasonable than many other inns or hotels in the area and worked well for our needs. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OhioTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for posting. We are working on the WiFi situation as we speak. Unfortunately we are at the mercy of Comcast and in Key West, this is difficult. We are sorry that you had problems but we will certainly fix them asap. We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Nice hotel for the price. Located at the south end of key west but still only 20 min walk to mallory square. Rooms were clean, and newly renovated. Nice pool area and continental breakfast was pretty good.

Room Tip: I stayed on ground floor with pool view. Pretty nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was our first time in Key west and my wife and I booked 3 nights at the Best Western Hibiscus hotel. This hotel is located one block over from Duval Street nearer the south end. We were very happy with our experience staying here. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly, and the rooms and grounds were quite clean and well kept. (We saw no bugs at all). The pool area was a nice place to lounge around on a sunny afternoon or a sultry evening. Our room was very spacious and clean and had all the amenities you could want. A sink and vanity outside of the bathroom (as well as one in the bathroom) is a welcome touch. Fridge and microwave worked well, and there was even some microwave popcorn in the room as well as disposable plates and utensils which we used one night. Beds were quite comfy and room was a lot quieter than I expected given the number of people staying here and the proximity to the main drag. (Pardon the pun). We had no problems sleeping. The breakfast buffey was middle of the road as far as free breakfasts go. We got plenty to eat in the mornings before heading out for our busy day. All in all we are glad we stayed here and would stay here again if we visit Key West in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pottert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We appreciate your business. Thanks for letting us know we are doing a good job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is by far one of the best deals in Key West, yes it's a chain and may not have the ambience of a mom & pop place, but really how much time are you going to spend in the room itself, which is extemely clean. The housekeeper we had made us 2 love birds made with the towels, like on a cruise. I've been to Key West twice and spent all day and most nights seeing the sites of Key West & will go back again & again, because you'll never get to see all the sites this island has to offer. The rooms are pricey, but one of the best values in Key West. Remember, you're in Key West, just about everything is pricey, if you don't know where to look, but that's another review. At night it does have a few tables around the pool for quite chats about the days events. WiFI is available and 2computers are available for customer use. I really shouldn't do this review because I'd like to make sure it's available the next time I go to Key West.

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms. Let your health & fitness dictate the room you would like. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartyV108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank HBTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you plan on staying here during Spring Break 2013, let me warn you of the roudy kids you will be staying with. Last year my wife and I spent a night here in March during spring break and it was not relaxing as we wanted. The college kids took over the poolside area playing beer pong in the pool. They set up their table on inflatable lounge mats in the shallow end and the beer was spilling over into the pool all the while management saw this going on. When I approached the front desk with this, they said the kids spend a lot of money to stay here also, and should have fun too,... Wow, are you kidding! I was able to speak with a couple of kids, and they said they were sleeping 4-8 per room without management knowing and only paying for 2 in a room. They split the cost equally keeping it affordable for them. Some kids slept on floor. I should have spent my $280.00 elsewhere. Don't waste your money here, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michtravel42763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I had a family trip in Key West in December 2012 and we spent one hight there. Our room was 205 and when we were about to go bed, my wife was shocked at mutiple bugs moving around on the bed - I'm attaching photos of them.

It was jus the beginning - like many other problematic cases, the real matter was how it was dealt with by responsible people. The hotel staff who came to us simply suggested that we move to another room and didn't much care about the bugs - he didn't express apology for the occasion and didn't even show any sympathy! He also said that it's not unusual to find those bugs in hotels in Florida - I didn't understand at all how he could say that. That means we should expect those bugs in hotel beds!

Next day, I talked with another person (maybe the manager) and she didn't seem any different.

I got so upset with the way they handle such a problem and this is why I really like to let other people know about the hotel. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RealGon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

When we receive a call at 11:30 about a problem in a room - any problem - our first resolution is to move you to another room. It is oftentimes easier on the guest than waiting for someone to come in and take care of the problem. This is not an attempt to ignore a problem, it is meant to get you into a new room so that you are comfortable. We are on an island. We do have bugs get into the rooms on occassion. This is not unheard of in our tropical atmosphere. This is not an excuse for bugs by any means, just an explanation. These were NOT bed bugs. The clerk in this instance went to the room with the guest, he apologized to the guest and offered them the CHOICE - move to another room or wait for the maintenance chief to come in. They chose to move. We cannot pack up the guest and move belongings as demanded but we did allow the guest to keep BOTH rooms for the night. The night clerk left word for the morning shift so the guest would not be disturbed in either room. NOT MENTIONED BY GUEST - ROOM WAS COMPED FOR THE INCONVENIENCE. What more could we have done? Not much. Not only was there no charge for the rooms - plural - there was a complimentary late check out and more apologies. Was there a problem - yes............did we make an honest effort to resolve it? Definitely. We leave it up to our guests that post and read here to decide.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,808 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $180 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing