We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value, great service, worth a return stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good value, great service, worth a return stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a pleasant place to stay in Key West. Our second stay at the Hibiscus, and it's even better than the last time. Location is a block off Duval on the lower end of Key West near Southern Most Point. You have a bit of a walk up to the action end of Duval, but it's nice and quiet with a super pool and jacuzzi with lots of sunlight. Rooms are large and well maintained, and the staff is instantaneously responsive. We had a remote control on the TV which wasn't working - My wife walked up to the office to ask about it - And before she even got back to the room, someone from maintenance was knocking on the door to take care of the problem. Housekeeping staff is quick, efficient and courteous. Continental breakfast is typical, but very good, and and has a sufficient variety of offerings including some meat sandwiches and great coffee! All in all, this is simply a nice relaxing, no hassle, place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We love to hear when we are doing great but we also appreciate any comments that will help us to improve. Thanks for letting us know about your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    884
    153
    46
    30
See reviews for
665
880
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This motel provides a good location for walking to most of Key West attractions. Front desk staff was friendly and offered suggestions/maps. Rooms are attractive but like everything in Key West priced 'high'. In-room WiFi signal was very weak, -mostly not working. Breakfast starts at 7 AM with 11 AM check-out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hibiscus was in a great, convenient location - close enough to the Duval Street action but away from it's craziness. Trolley stop just around the corner to take you down to Mallory Square area. Rooms clean and well-maintained. Some good restaurants nearby. Breakfast not the greatest, but certainly more than satisfactory. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for posting! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here two nights, room very clean and spacious, bathroom spotless, coffee making facilites and ice etc. Breakfast adequate (but was free) and the pool area is very nice. My only down is our room was facing a brick wall and such no natural light. Close to all attractions and FREE parking which is a huge bonus in the keys.

Room Tip: Dont take 215 its got no natural light and would be the same for several others, having siad that di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldandtiredBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for four nights at this lovely little hotel. The rooms are large, clean, freshly painted and the hotel is very well maintained. All staff were friendly. The breakfast room is very small but eating breakfast around the pool was pleasant. This hotel is really good value for money in key West and it is easy to walk to all attractions easily from here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
When our guests are booking with us we try to explain how close we are to everything but it is always better when posted by someone that actually stayed with us. Thanks! We think our location is ideal - close yet still quiet enough to enjoy your vacation. We appreciate your comments and your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel is walking distance to many local attractions. Great customer service. Very clean, and comfortable. Room had a small fridge, microwave, two separate bathroom sinks, a very large closet, wood laminate floors, two lazy chairs with a rug underneath. I will definitely come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you! We appreciate that you took the time to post here. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 1 night at this charming motel in Key West. The hotel is of a certain age but it is very nice. Large spacious rooms, clean courtyard with pool. Friendly front desk staff. The hotel has a great location, just a short walk to the southernmost point and a 10 min. walk to Duval Street. The staff can recommend things to do if you don't have your own agenda set. Besides the free wifi, parking and continental breakfast they also have a bag of microwave popcorn in each room for the guests. The little thing that can make a person happy. I would definitely stay here next time I would come to Key West.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing