We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Check in was a breeze even though we had expected some problems as we had booked on points and were charged the first night's stay online...turned out to be no problem at all; the clerk was very helpful, refunded the charge and our room was ready.
Large bright room with small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Large bathroom and separate area with sink and mirror in true Best Western style.
Excellent location: 2 blocks from the beach and Southernmost Point, one block from Duval Street (main shopping and night life area), certainly walking distance to Mallory Square and Sunset Pier (20 minutes). If desired, scooter and bicycle rental rental is just around the corner.
The rooms were clean and have been updated. The price varies per season, but we found it to be reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. Good value for the money!
A very basic continental breakfast was included with an attentive staff making sure that there is plenty to go around.
Overall a really nice experience; would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms would be quieter and away from the main parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    869
    151
    45
    29
See reviews for
656
864
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for only 1 night (10/6/12) and was quite pleased with the location and cleanliness of the hotel. Many things were within walking distance even though it is one block over from Duval Street and at the quieter end of the area. The room was very spacious and included a small fridge and microwave oven. The pool looked nice although we didn't have a chance to use it. The breakfast area was very small and the items provided were of the usual, ordinary continental variety. A huge plus was that the breakfast and parking were both complimentary. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

For under £70 per night for 2 including breakfast we thought this was a great deal for Key West. The check in and out was smooth and the guys at the desk was very friendly and helpful with our questions.
We had a huge room with 2 king beds, which overlooked the pool and spa. The breakfast room was pretty small and did get quite packed so we did eat around the pool one morning. There was quite a good selection to pick from toast, fruit cereal yoghurts and more.
The hotel is only a couple of blocks from Duval Street but near enough for us to enjoy the short walk to bars and restaurants, which was ideal for us. It was probably about 20 min walk to Mallory square to see the lovely sunsets
We had a lovely stay at this hotel and would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Great to have such wonderful guests. We are truly blessed to have the best people in the world stay with us. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I loved this hotel. If I go back to Key West I will try to stay here again.
The location was perfect. It was a block from Duvall Street which means it was quick to get to and also quick to get away from. It was nice and quiet when we were tired of the craziness on Duvall.
The breakfast was included. They had fresh fruit, oatmeal, waffles, bread and bagels, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, literally something for everyone.
Our room was huge! Mind you we had just finished a 7 day cruise, but still we loved the spaciousness! Large bathroom, 2 queen size beds, sitting area. It was like a breath of fresh air after the crampiness of our state room.
The pool, pool area, hot tub, was great. The pool temperature was perfect for me. I swam lengths and never once got too cold when getting in or too hot from the swimming. Someday I want a pool just like this one.
The staff was courteous, everything was clean.
Wifi, parking and breakfast were all included, I felt the price we paid was a good value for the Key West area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend during my recent trip to Key West. This is the perfect spot to stay as you don't get the noise from Duval Street but are still close enough to walk everywhere. In Key West, you walk or ride a scooter everywhere you go. Another huge bonus is that parking is free for guests. The actual room was very clean and comfortable. I can't really think of a bad thing to say about this place. I think the word "value" really is most appropriate. It is not a 5 star hotel but certainly serves it's purpose very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltlslick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for posting! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just a block off of Duval Street. Great pool, whirlpool, free breakfast (including microwavable items). Microwave and mini-fridge in room. They even supply plastic silverware and paper plates in your room. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelajoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Although the guy at the front desk was really friendly, the room was old and dirty. The bath tube blocked up after one shower. There were small insects in the whole bath room and party in the room as well. The air condition was loud and really, really old. People were sitting in the swimming and drinking canned beer. Cheap, but still not cheap enough. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theshadowvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A scathing review like this really hurts but all we can say is - if you let us know there are issues while you are here we will correct them to your satisfaction. And if for some reason we cannot do that, we will help you to find accommodations more suitable to your needs. We would not expect anyone to stay in the room that is described here under any circumstance and it is hard to believe that someone actually did stay in such a room. I agree that such a place is unacceptable and personally I would have demanded to see the manager! I am truly sorry that this review was posted however it has put us on alert and we have gone through all of our rooms to be sure that the issues posted here are not going to affect our guests. As for the guests in the pool, well, chilling with a cold beer - not in a glass bottle - at the pool sounds like paradise to me! We take the good with the bad - thanks to all of our guests for posting here on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing