We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, friendly staff!”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I stayed at the Key Ambassador for two nights during the last week of December 2010. I was surprised and a little concerned, upon arrival, to find that all the rooms had outside entrances, and my room was at ground level. However, I found my room to be quite large, clean, and modern, with plenty of towels, a fridge, microwave, and even a pull-out couch. The bed was very comfortable, and despite the airport being literally next door to the property, there was no flight activity past 9:30pm and none in the morning to wake you up. During the evening hours, I noticed staff riding around the property in golf carts to keep an eye on what was going on, so that was reassuring, as I was kind of nervous about staying in a hotel with an outside entrance. It made me feel very safe. I arrived for the continental breakfast about an hour before it ended, and found it very crowded, as it is in a very small room with barely any seating. so I left without getting anything. The Key Ambassador is located pretty far from Duvall St, but there is a trolley (I believe it is $30/person) that stops for pickups and drop offs in front of the hotel until 5:30pm, and takes you to Duvall St, Mallory Square, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you don't mind its location being a bit far from all the activity of Key West.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    685
    303
    104
    65
See reviews for
616
693
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was our third time at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn. We love the mini suite Harbor View room, it is very clean,roomy and well stocked with towels, bath items and a fridge. The grounds are beautifully kept and a AWESOME pool with a great Tiki bar. There is also a laundry facility. If you get up early enough you can walk across the street and catch a beautiful sunrise upon the Atlantic Ocean. All the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny72664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel room was clean and quite large. The view from our window was very nice - overlooking the water. The Tiki Bar was nice and the pool was nice. Unfortunately, the only problem is the location. It is much too far from Duval Street. But, if you do not care about Duval Street (which we love), this is the place to stay! I highly recommend it!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Key ambassador for two nights. The hotel staff was wonderful and the room was very clean, stocked with lots of bath products, extra towels and mints. The grounds were very well landscaped. Outstanding pool area and Tiki Bar. The hotel is located close to the airport so there is some noise during the day. All smaller planes. The last plane left around 9:30 and we had an excellent nights sleep. Very easy to get to the night life of Key West by car. Parking in Key West was not a problem.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FiftiesHavingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Our room was very odd. We took the cheapest rate, (which was still over priced for what we got) so we were in the back building. The room was very large with a lot of dead space. That made the old 32 inch TV look even smaller. The whole place seems very tired & dated! If it was remodeled, the work was poorly done! A tiny dorm fridge was under the sink on a block of wood. The toilet looked to be an after thought! (Yes, you heard me right!) There's a back door that went to a nasty screened room facing the back of another hotel. The Breakfast Room was next to us in the back 40. Not even in the main hotel area. Many guest had trouble finding it. The pool area was very nice, and if you had one of those rooms it might not have been so bad. But we were not going to spend a dollar more for this Best Western. This place was just different!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoomInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyambassador01, General Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Please accept my apology for not responding to you sooner. I am sorry you’re stay here was not as nice as I am sure it could have been. We have remodeled a majority of our rooms; (please note previous reviewer), however the room you speak of has not yet been completed. These rooms are due to be remodeled at the beginning of the year. We cannot fix problems or concerns that our guest have if they are not brought to our attention. I wish we could have assisted you during your stay perhaps a room change or an upgrade to another room if you would have told us. I encourage you to please give us another try next year and please if there are any issues during your stay bring them to our attention right away so we can make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If you choose not to come back I thank you for your thoughts and in helping to make us better for our future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We have been coming to this hotel since 1970. The owners take great pride in it and have remodeled and added many extras over the years. It is presently in need of a little updating in some areas (carpeting, seals around entry doors), but overall it is such an incredible setting. It is a very tropical setting, the Atlantic ocean is right across the street and many of the rooms overlook it as well as the beautiful pool and grounds. An on-premise Cheekie Hut serves great food and tropical drinks. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our only negative would be noise from the Key West airport and traffic on Roosevelt Blvd. However, Key West is such a small city and island that one would experience these minor annoyances most anywhere they stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

It is located right next to the airport at the beginning of the key. With car this means you are 10-15 minutes away from the historical district. We stayed a week and drove there, so the price made the difference.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdraque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Property: Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing