We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West - Quiet Side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
White House, TN
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Key West - Quiet Side”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Used Best Western discount special to make reservations for family vacation. Yes it is away from downtown which means you either drive, bicycle or moped to downtown with the parking issues. Yes it is next to the airport, but you really do not notice the planes taking off after a while. Yes it is across the street from the seawall, so if you are a walker, jogger or cyclist it is perfect spot for morning, noon for mad dogs, or night exercise. If you want photos of the sunrise on the Atlantic side, this is the perfect spot from the seawall. Hotel is just over a mile from one of the few sand beaches in Key West, Smathers Beach.. The hotel is very large, we stayed in the southern building, which is where the breakfast room is. The Northern complex is where the pool area and bar is. The pool is a great place, Lots of shade, large area, and several water falls to add interest for the kids. The staff were very friendly at check-in,and on the third night when the room keys had to be reprogrammed. The room is H U G E. Largest I have experienced. Screened in balcony provides a view of the resort area next door, a Hyatt property no less, and the Iguana lizards running around in the trees and the grounds, where else but Key West. Rooms have been very nicely and recently remodeled, well done. New carpets, furniture, very nice. Beds are super comfy. They even have the special touch of providing paper plates and utensils on the microwave for your use. Two complementary bottles of water as well. Vanity sink is separate from bed area with P L E N T Y of space for hanging clothes, coolers, and possibly an extra bed if needed, it is HUGE. Vanity mirror in addition to the wall mirror is welcome touch for the ladies getting ready for a night on the town. Shower and toilet are in separate room which is ALWAYS helpful when you are the male in a room with three females. I especially appreciate the side table and side chair with ottoman along with the desk and office chair. Classy hotel on a budget price. Better room appointments than I have had in much more expensive Sheraton or Hyatts. They are two story units with only stair access so if you have special needs, take that in consideration. Plenty of parking here, so take advantage, may be the only time you will not have a problem parking in Key West. Breakfast area a little crowded, but it has a covered patio which is very handy. Nice and helpful staff. Common breakfast fare waffles, breads, no "hot" items like meats or eggs, but they do have sausage eggs and biscuits to microwave in the fridge. Seems to be the preferred hotel for military and commercial employees. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel for families. Away from the downtown madness. I would stay here EVERY TIME I return to Key West. Easy access from Roosevelt and easy access to downtown. The ONLY complaint is the shower did not drain well. The only blemish in an otherwise paradise............

Room Tip: Keep in mind the breakfast area is in the southern building, accessed by a bridge from the main comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shawclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333TOrr, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are VERY pleased to hear that we are your hotel of choice for EVERY time you visit Key West! We look forward to seeing you again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    700
    311
    109
    66
See reviews for
635
707
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coconut creek, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We come to the Key Ambassador 3 to 4 times a year. The time spent here is always enjoyable. We look forward to our days at the resort better than our nights on Duval St. We know we can go anywhere for our getaways but why mess with a sure thing. The Cheekie Bar and the pool really makes you feel you are in paradise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333TOrr, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thanks Anne Marie! We are happy to hear you had yet another great getaway with us! Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have been to Key West before so we didn't want to stay in the crush of the very active frantic town when the cruise ships come in, so we researched and found this perfect beautiful hotel. Key West isn't that large, so we escaped the ever busy noisy downtown for a harbor view in a very quiet hotel that is still very close to everything, and even has the trolley stop there if you didn't want to drive!! It is such a beautiful property that we actually hated to leave to go into Key West. A beautiful large swimming pool complete with dolphins, well carvings of them, but it added such a special touch that is so much more than a typical hotel pool. The pool is such a lush tropical paradise that was very hard to leave. Top this off with an outstanding staff that made us feel very welcomed, even helping us store luggage on the day we checked out so we didn't risk having it in the car while we went into town. What an enjoyable pleasure, an exceptional 4 star hotel without 4 star pricing!!

Room Tip: There are rooms surrounding the pool, you give up a little of the ocean view but gain a lush tropica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geneva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333TOrr, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your Excellent rating! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that the staff was able to provide you with outstanding service. We hope you will get the opportunity to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveport, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Key West, reserved the oceanfront king room. It was huge! The view is fantastic! The pool is wonderful, breakfast was good and included breakfast sandwiches, internet access good. Front desk staff very friendly! We had no issues while there. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank KatyZimmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333TOrr, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks Katy! We're happy you enjoyed your stay! It means a lot to us to hear our guests say they will return, and we look forward to seeing you again when you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here in June with 2 other girlfriends for a trip to Key West. The location isn't near Duval street or any attractions, but Key West is such a small island, so it's really not a problem. Everything (Margaritaville, Hemingway House, Southernmost point) was within a 5 mile drive. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and it's very easy to get to from Hwy 1. The pool is huge and is a perfect temperate. There's a hut right in the pool space that serves drinks and food; it's a perfect spot for lunch on a relaxing day. The room was spacious and modern, there's plenty to watch on TV and the shower has a bench seat. The only thing I'd change would be the continental breakfast. The room is a bit small and the hotel seems very popular, so it's a little chaotic when you're trying to grab food. Also the selection wasn't very big, but there is a nice outdoor eating space. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333TOrr, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank your for sharing your experience here. We're glad you found us to be a good value, and pleased to add you to the long list of our guests who return to the Key Ambassador whenever they visit Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

For what this hotel is, it deserves 4 stars. It's a mid-level extremely clean, friendly staffed, modern hotel. It's not a Le Meridien and doesn't pretend to be. But it's as clean a hotel as any and the pool is large and lovely. And the pics have been modernized and are far more stylish than the beach motiff pics suggest.

It's about a mile off the busy downtown area of Key West - we specifically chose this. A quick scooter ride of maybe 7 or 8 minutes puts your right in the heart of Duval Street. The hotel will get you scooters so that's convenient - about $65 (2 seater) for 24 hours.

I would definitely stay here again - it's clean, easy and quiet. Oh, and the free breakfast area is nice - fruits, breads, cereals, coffee/tea- great add on.

I nearly forgot - the birds (some sort of crane I guess) are a wonderful bonus! They will sit their long legs in the chairs next to you and ask for fries! =)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333TOrr, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you, Susan! We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel on the island, and we're glad it shows The biggest compliment we can receive is hearing our guests say they will definitely stay with us again, and we look forward to adding you to our long list of repeat guests when you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We love going to the Best Western for an afternoon at the pool. Mostly, we cant get enough of the delicious tropical libations and their Saturday bartender, Jesse. Not only does he make your drinks fast and delicious, he always gives service with a smile!

We will be back again for sure!

PS, Jesse recommended the Fried Shrimp Platter, which was second to none! You could tell they were KW Pinks and hand breaded. Yum!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
333TOrr, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and will certainly pass along your compliments to Jesse at the pool bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Property: Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing