We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & large clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Port Saint John, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view & large clean rooms”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and i have stayed at this hotel many times- it's a few miles from Duval - but right across the street from the ocean. Most rooms have a private balcony or porch- and some rooms have a great ocean view. The rooms and are large and clean.
This is a great location on the island to view the sunset in the fall/winter months. Also you can see rays, fish and sharks swimming in the shallow water. It is near the airport- and can be kinda noisy from the revving plane engines. But we really enjoy watching planes take off overhead. Also a good place to spot the fighter jets flying to and from the nearby Navy Base. Its a nice scooter ride to Duval - or about $20 in a cab. Also the bus stops at this location. Great pool area, and the FREE breakfast isn't bad. They offer waffles, danishes, juice, coffee, milk, cereal, fruit, yogurt and more. Also parking is ample and FREE.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    692
    307
    106
    65
See reviews for
625
697
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Room was very nice, clean beautiful decor. Hotel and grounds are very well maintained, felt safe and comfortable. Only issue was the proximity of the airport, planes will fly over the hotel but stops at 10:00PM. Otherwise I will be back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My Fiance' has stayed at this hotel for the last 20 years, and I've stayed there with her the last 5 years in a row and this year was by far, the WORST!!! We arrived on October 28, 2013, and had bought a vacation package through Expedia clear back in May. We paid an extra $45/night for a poolview room. The total hotel cost was $1,743.00 for the week, which was cheaper than booking directly through the hotel. When we got there, there was construction going on and it was jackhammers! Luckily, our room was far away from that. The very first day we were there, the toilet overflowed onto the floor when we flushed it! There was water everywhere! We had to clean up the mess, since they did not arrive to fix it until later that day, after we left the room! The problem was still not fixed, as the toilet would not stop running. Then the next day, we had NO water at all! It came on after about 30 minutes. On the third day of our vacation, the water wasn't working AGAIN!! This time, they said they had NO idea when it would be back on! They told us to move to another hotel if we didn't like it, because we could only expect more of the same! Then they offered to put us in another room that had water, however, they moved us to a musty room that had a weed view! Ten minutes after we checked into the new room, my Fiance' thought she left her sunglasses in the poolview room, so I went to check. When I went to our old room, I checked to see if the water was back on, and it WAS!!! We called the front desk to see if we could move back to the room that we had paid for, and they said NO!! They already sold that room to a walk-in guest!! (FOR MORE MONEY!!!) The new room they put us in had a leaky bathtub and there was water all over the floor!! They never came to the room to look to fix it, despite us calling numerous times! We had to keep cleaning it up with towels! At first, they only gave us $50 for dinner for moving to a lesser expensive room, but on the last day of our trip, my Fiance' raised hell to them, and they gave us an additional $85, which covered the difference between the two rooms for three nights. The manager was very mean and said "NEVER COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN!!" They are under new management and have NO loyalty to longtime customers!! My Fiance' was heartbroken that her 20 year history at this hotel had to end on this sad note. They dissed her to the end! The young desk clerk argued with her about giving her the money difference and gave her dirty looks as she exited the lobby. I will NEVER stay there again!!! So sad that these people only cared about themselves and the $$$$$!!

Room Tip: Don't book on any travel website or package, because you will be treated equal to the ones who b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jasond1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calverton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent motel. We have stayed there every year for the past 5 years for Fantasy Fest. It offers the best price for any motel or hotel in the area. It has a beautiful pool that is located right on the Ocean. We have never slept in the Ocean rooms, but have always chosen the pool/garden rooms on the second floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean, comfortable, with one major flaw... Jets taking off over the palm trees and buildings. So noisy, I ducked down the first time. I would not stay here again. We had a harborview room, with a BIG truck parked on the property, blocking the view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Ambassador Inn for two nights. The front lobby was still undergoing renovations, but we could tell that once finished it would look nice. We were given a room on the second floor far from the construction noise, which was appreciated, however we were not spared the planes taking off at 7am. If you are noise-sensitive therefore, make sure you bring earplugs along. The room we had (266) looked recently renovated, with new bedding and curtains, however the AC was very loud and the bed lumpy in the middle. The breakfast was sufficient and seating was also available outdoors to enjoy it. We did not use the pool, but it did look nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the Manager's special when booking, you will save a bundle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for three nights two weeks when we visited fantasy fest. This was our
first visit but will not be our last. Hotel was great. Rooms were very clean,
beds were sooo comfortable and rooms were very spacious. I paid a little extra to
get the oceanview room but wished i had gotten the poolview rooms. the oceanview rooms have a great view but you cannot see or are near the pool, they
are in a total different building. Definitely not worth the extra money since the
poolview rooms also have an excellent view. Check in was fast and the front
desk was always very helpful in helping you plan your day or for any requests.
the pool was awesome and its great to have the pool bar which also serves the
food. My only complaint for this hotel would be that the bar drinks were too expensive. $10 for a daiquiri, come on, but oh well your in the keys. You can
drink at any other bar for much cheaper. There are lots of iguanas on the property,
that was pretty neat. also the grounds are kept pretty nice. I didnt like there is
no shuttle that take you into downtown but you can catch the city bus right there
in the parking lot beside the lobby for $2 per person each way, so its no big deal. We took the bus into town many times. Also cab will run you $18 for 4 people so
not too bad either. Breakfast was very good, lots of good food and the ladies
attending the breakfast bar were very nice and attentative. I would definitely
recommend this place to my friends and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a poolview room over an oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker21_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read your kind comments and have shared them will all our staff. We are indeed lucky with our location and variety of room types we have to offer. We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Property: Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing