We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Upon driving in to the hotel complex I questioned my decision to stay here. From the outside the place doesn't look that impressive, very 50's motel.

I check in for 3 nights and receive a room on the lower ground. My room was supposed to have habour views. Well it did have water views but I had to stand very close to the window whilst standing up. I wouldn't call this habour view. Anyway, I didn't bother to complain as we didn't plan on spending too much time in our room. The room itself was huge. With a very comfortable King size bed, couch, table with two chairs, TV, Microwave and fridge. The walls were a bit thin, during one night our neighbours were very noisy we could hear everything.

The pool area was nice and I spent many hours there. The water is also heated in winter. There is a bar selling snacks and drinks.

Yes, there are planes going past but it didn't bother us. I actually enjoyed watching the various planes taking off.

Outside the hotel there is a nice walk along the ocean. It was great for early morning walks and to watch the sunset.

Downtown Key west, including Duval street is not very far by car. It took us 5-10 minutes to drive and parking was not an issue. There is also a beach within 2-3 minutes drive.

Breakfast was standard continental breakfast with fruit, pastries, bread, waffle, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice. The only bad thing about breakfast time was the size of the room, there were a small number of tables. If you turn up for breakfast at 9am expect to wait for a table.

Overall our stay was pleasant. Key West is an expensive place, especially in January, this place was good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

We spent 4 days here in early Dec. 2011. The room was huge,with a screened porch. The view from the porch was not any thing to write home about but it was comfortable. Breakfast was in my building a few steps away. It was ample for my wife and me. We did not use the pool but it was there and available. Being an plane buff this was also a plus as the KW airport was behind us and NAS KW also beside. I could watch all the activity. One of the best kept secrets of KW is the beach, a stones throw away. KW is 2x4 so even though you are at the eastern end it is still only 15 miniutes from Mallory Square. Want more breakfast choice Dennys and IHOP are just over on North Roosevelt.
Mike & Madeleine Casselman ON

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Servico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyambassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Best Western Key Ambassador and hope we have the chance to see you again.

Best Wishes,

Joey Hendrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Decided to go to Key West for New Years following house hunting trip further up the coast. Picked this hotel as it seemed the best value, especially in the height of the season and as Best Westerns usually always offer good value for the money. Didn't know what to expect as I had read some of the previous reviews here. We were very pleasantly surprised; I had requested an ocean view room, when we checked in we were offered choice of first or second floor. We chose second floor (be aware there is no elevator, but the steps are not bad); when we walked into our room we were stunned by the view! Room was large, clean and just delightful; sitting on the balcony having coffee and watching the sunrise was wonderful. The staff was very, very friendly and helpful; everyone from the front desk to the bar attendents at the "Cheekie Hut" by the pool. Pool area teriffic (yes, there are the white ibis walking around, but that adds to the fun). Downsides are the airport right next door, but as previously mentioned, not an issue at night. Also, the ocean view rooms do face S. Roosevelt Blvd, so you do have some traffic noise. We took either cab or bus into town; a little inconvenient but it was New Years weekend. Short drive/medium walk to nice beach area. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Bad points:
* Right next to the airport - loud aircraft overhead all day.
* Found cockroaches in my room (pest control called in).
* Air conditioning too loud to use at night (& still sleep).
* No food facilities apart from basic breakfast.
* Rooms from outside look like a 1950's holiday camp complex

Good points:
* Helpful staff
* Pool was fabulous
* Location was next to the ocean
* Room decor was good
* Gave me one day's refund when I showed them the cockroaches on cameraphone.

Summary: Has 2.5 star rating on tripadvisor which is probably correct.

Room Tip: Bear in mind, right next to airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyambassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for any instances where we did not exceed your expectations. I am, however, pleased you were happy with the staff and their response to your concerns. I do want to mention that in addition to breakfast, we serve food and drinks at the poolside "Cheekie Hut" during the day. I hope you will choose the Best Western Key Ambassador in the future and allow us the opportunity to improve upon your last stay.

Best Wishes,

Joey Hendrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is the first time we stayed outside the downtown area while in Key West. The rooms were halfway decent, but there was very little space to put toiletries because the whole bathroom counter was taken up with the ice bucket and coffee maker. The complimentary breakfast (mediocre) was in an entirely different building, which was a major inconvenience, since there were no trays available to carry the food back to the room. Also, the food area was very cramped with very little counter space to add condiments, butter, etc.

The cleaning staff left a lot to be desired. They did the bare minimum, even after we personally handed them a nice tip. If a dirty paper cup was left out (no room in the tiny wastebaskets), it was still there after the cleaning. Seems the only thing they liked to do is spray the room with an intense deodorizer. I understand why, since the room had a very musty odor after the deodorizer quit working.

The location is an inconveniece if spending any time downtown. Forget finding a cab back there after midnight, especially during the holidays. Yes, it's near the airport, but the planes did not take off or land late at night.

The pool area was very nice, but again we were inconvenienced because the access gate to the pool nearest to our room remained locked, so we had to walk all the way around. We only stayed here because we made last minute plans and couldn't spend the minimum 5 days at the Southernmost, where we usually stay. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMac848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This place was awesome. Very clean and everyone is very friendly. Great screened in balconys lets you enjoy your coffee outside but somewhat out of sight. Very quiet. There is an international airport very near but it wasn't a problem as the planes don't fly in and out at night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyambassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Best Western Key Ambassador and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return to us in the future. Happy Holidays from all of us and have a wonderful New Year.

Best Wishes,

Joseph Hendrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Excellent hotel, Situated approx 3 miles from town centre but no eating places within a mile of the hotel.Very friendly and helpful reception. A large and pleasantly decorated room, although not containing a safe. As the complex is spread out there can be a walk of up to 200m to the breakfast area which could be a problem for people with disabilities, or if the weather was inclement. Very good choice for breakfast. Could be noisy at times as very close to the civil airport plus jets & transport planes from the nearby Naval Air Station.

Room Tip: If cannot walk far ask for room near Breakfast area - there are some next too it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happywanderer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,357 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $188 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing