We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is perfect for 2 couples staying in one room.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merlin Guest House Key West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #32 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
1 review
“This place is perfect for 2 couples staying in one room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

This place is perfect for 2 couples staying in one room. We took our daughter and her husband with us. It was so big for the price. The privacy was a plus. They slept on the hide-a-bed in the living room and said it was very comfortable. We a a very big king size bed in the bedroom. Again, very comfortable. The continental breakfast every morning was awesome. Plenty of good size bagels, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and coffee. And it was only two blocks from all the action on Duvall St. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank standda714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    182
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
41
360
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NM
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

I've stayed at the Merlin a few times. Orginallly because of its very convinant location and even more for the value, The place is very clean & the staff very freindly, The rooms are cute throuh very small, hence the value. A lot of luggage presents some difficulties.

The most difficult is the very limeted parking. Once you find spot don't move it!

The set up is very nice for pool and/or porch lounging .... very restful. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck12020123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

We arrived on March 25th, 2010. And to start things off, our room was ready early for us to check in just after 12pm. We were fortunate enough to get lucky room number 13. The room was amazing beyond words. It had its own balcony with an umbrella table that overlooked the pool. Yes, the one that you see on the website. On top of being a beautiful room, we checked in at the desk and were greeted by Kate, the woman behind the counter. She had a full selection of coupons and suggestions/recommendations to make our trip more eventful. The hotel could not have been in a better location. One block off of Duval St and right in the middle between the North and South parts of Duval. So the room was within walking distance for everything, but far enough away to be quiet. The hotel itself has many shade trees and great landscaping that give it a tropical feel. Breakfast is served outside by the pool every morning. Its your typical morning hotel breakfast, but by the pool was spectacular. Upon us checking out, we were able to leave all our bags in the lobby while we walked and shopped during our final day in Key West. My wife and I cannot wait to return to Key West, as we will surely be staying again at the Merlin Guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iceman32656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

I loved this hotel it reminded me of the Walton’s. It is close to nightlife but away from the noise.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave&Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

Wonderful location, quiet, lovely gardens, large room, breakfast and coffee every morning. A sweet kitty cat to welcome you. Within "crawling" distance of the Duval Crawl. Difficult to find a place to park.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaLetsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HANOVER PARK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We enjoyed a two day stay at the Merlin Guest House in February. Despite the cold weather, the hospitality and the breakfast coffee was warm. Great location to walk to everything, the only concern might be parking. They do not have a lot of their own, so you have to find on-street parking, which can be challenging. Nevertheless, Merlin Guest House provided comfortable, quiet, and secure accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here between the Christmas and New Year's holidays on a trip that involved several hotel stays. Merlin guesthouse was definately not one of the best.

Pros:
The location is great. Walking distance to everything. We stayed in a street facing room and luckily were not disturbed by street noise. The staff is quite helpful and welcoming. The pool, though small, was clean and has a jet bubble setting which is nice. Continental breakfast is okay. The outdoor patio area is beautiful. I personally quite like the high, bare-beamed room ceilings, the wooden window shutters, and the four poster beds. Very nice charming touches.

Cons:
The mattress, pillows, and linens were not at all comfortable. The towels were cheap and rough. The free toiletries were cheap, cheap, cheap in quality. The bathroom only had a shower stall which was old, chipped and looked filthy. The shower curtain sticks to you when showering. Did I mention the mattress is hard as a rock? I think the rooms should definately have mini fridges. The continental breakfast coffee is no good. And parking is a nightmare. Park and rent a scooter and you'll be okay.

I think this place has the potential to be much better than it is. I just wish management would step it up a few notches.

If you're super cheap you'll likely love this place. I, however, know that there are other places in Key West with the same charm and affordeable prices
but much higher quality.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GneissQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.0 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Property: Merlin Guest House Key West
Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is a 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of historic Old Town, Key West within a neighborhood and a short walk away from all the restaurants, attractions and nightlife on Duval street. It is also a nice bike ride away from the beaches and water sports of Key West. The hotel has a variety of guest rooms and suites located in a small grouping of cottages and buildings surrounded by lush landscaping and a private courtyard. The pool area provides a quiet and comfortable place to relax and unwind. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Romantic and relaxing, unique and charming; where modern style & comfort meets a relaxed Key West vibe. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at Merlin Guesthouse. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room Free Continental Breakfast Upscale Amenities Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Historic Landmark Guesthouse Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West Lovely Neighborhood Setting Onsite and Street Parking Nearby Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing