We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #34 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Recently my boyfriend and I stayed at the Merlin Guesthouse as part of our vacation. The place is located off the Duval St, but close enough to walk to all the bars, restaurants and art galleries. We stayed 9 days and we never rented a car or scooter to explore around, we actually walk everywhere we wanted to go, since the hotel is so centrally located. The place is really clean and the staff is very friendly, including Jordan- the cat-, who helped us with the check in when we first arrive ( hehehe). The breakfast consist on bagels, english muffins, cereals, yogurt and some fruits. It was a light breakfast which is not bad, but I rather have some eggs, ham and/or oatmeal in the morning. Great Place though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 597 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

My first experience to Key West was Fantastic and a huge part of that goes to Merlin Guesthouse. This is a great little gem right in the middle of Key West. The room was nice, clean, comfortable, home away from home. The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything, restaurants, bars, ocean. The staff was friendly, helpful with restaurant suggestions, & accommodating to any request. I am so glad were chose this location to spend our days in Key West. Thank you Merlin Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poobabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just took an amazing vacation to Key West and stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast! We stayed 5 nights and truly enjoyed our stay in the King Suite here! The room was beautiful and the staff was so sweet! We were too warm in our room so they not only gave us a floor model fan to use but they had a brand new ceiling fan installed over the bed! It was so much cooler!!! Breakfast was plenty for us including bagels, yogurt, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee and tea! We enjoyed every second and are going to book our room at the Merlin Guesthouse for our next vacation!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyBamaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just spent an evening at the Merlin Guesthouse. I would recommend this establishment to anyone. Rented a King room that was very large, very modern, filled with luxury and not a spec of dirt to be found. The staff all shined as well as the entire property. Our favorite part.....our new pal, Jordan (a cat watching over the property).

The property is walking distance to downtown. The only problem that exists is on street parking. There's not much in the area.

I will be back and stay at the Merlin Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

When driving around Key West, especially around Duvall Street it may not seem like there a whole lot of nice places to stay. This being my first time at a B & B, I was totally surprised...and in a good way. From the outside, it looks like all the rest, a little run down, jammed in with the rest of the B & B, a really nothing to brag about...Don't let that fool you. Our room was awesome and totally a surprise when we opened the door. It's modern, very clean, and has everything you need for a great stay.

The staff is also exceptional. They helped guide us to awesome places to eat that were off the beaten path and were there to assist in any way you needed.

You really won't be disappointed in your stay. The parking can be tricky, but once again, the staff helped find us a spot right in front of our guest house.

The breakfast is minimal, but enough to get you started. The grounds are just beautiful and you'll enjoy just sitting around the beautiful mature trees and pool.

The only negative I could find is our bedroom shared a room with the "kitchen" and we could hear the ladies preparing breakfast at 7a.m. sharp every morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipflops1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the newly remodelled two bedroom cottage and we all absolutely loved it. It was very fairly priced for the value and atmosphere. The beds were wonderful, the design of the cottage was clean and pleasing to the eye, and the staff was quick to assist. The location couldn't be better: walk to Duval Street just a block away and be in the heart of town. Pool was perfect, as was patio for reclining with other guests and enjoying the well-appointed continental breakfast with good coffee/tea/cocoa/juice.
Rooms were well appointed with good quality items and all accessories needed.
The only deficiency was the "internet access", which was really not available in the actual room where you'd want to use it late at night. You had to travel around the property to find a good connection. This should be made clear to potential patrons so no disappointment or inconvenience occurs, as the timing & location of the connection may be critical to some.
We would most definitely choose this property again, and we enjoyed it very much!!!

Room Tip: There's a personable resident cat who provides some local color.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpectsFairDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful reception by staff. Merlin's is centrally located and an easy walk to Duval, Whitehead and the Southernmost areas. Thankfully away from the crazy crazy bars of Duval meaning noise was a minimum from our room off the pool. Gardens are wonderful and Jordan the Cat an ever present concierge. Will definitely stay again at this jewel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsFlorida33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.6 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $181 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Merlin Guest House located in the Old Town area of Key West. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 20 guest rooms which are located just one block from Duval Street; you will be steps away from Key West’s best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and attractions. Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, and Ernest Hemingway’s Home are all within easy reach. The nearest beach is just six blocks away. Take off walking in any direction and you will discover Key West’s hidden treasures. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing