We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #35 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I love to try a variety of b&bs, inns, hotels, etc. This place is a combo of all three. Beautiful individual buildings with charm, great location.

Store bought, well provisioned outdoor breakfast by the pool. Only 4 tables so u still get that close chatting with your table mates feel of a b&b. Pool is small, includes jets& wasn't heated when we were there- however if u go in knowing that it is easily one of the most beautiful places for a dip or to sun!

Helpful staff, great places.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suguna42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Merlin Guest House Key West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 590 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

nice and cute, but bas bed for your back and no internet on the rooms adjacent to the street. For that price, there are better hotels and guesthouses. Pool is actually a spa and it's not heated. Breakfast is served in styrofoam containers, so this stay has a pretty bad footprint.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximeLachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great stay at your Inn and if we ever return to Key West we will stay at one of your hotels for sure! The rooms were clean and your continental breakfast was perfect. forget perfect they were AMAZING... stuffed croissants WOW. The staff was always very helpful and kind as well. The cats are nice companions that keep you comany at the pool. you are literally 1 block from the main strip. Duval street. walking distance to to everything major. we absolutly loved this hotel and are looking fwd to spending many more new years in the keys.

Room Tip: room 19.. i think had a bedroom and an upstairs loft plus a living room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsoccer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I were at the Merlin Guest House for Christmas 2012.
It's a real nice place to stay, 1 block from Duval Street. We had room #20, which is on the 2nd floor. It is the only unit on the 2nd floor,very private with a great lanai. If you don't mind steps, it is a great choice.
Breakfast was a typical continental style, served in the outdoor garden by the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned home from a five night stay. We loved the charm of the Merlin Guesthouse. Our room was spacious and private. Loved all the natural light! The staff was exceptionally friendly and we felt right at home. I'd stay again and would choose the same room! Great place!

Room Tip: Loved the king suite...number 20
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fremontkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My then fiance, now husband, stayed here 4 nights this week for our wedding & honeymoon. It was wonderful! The room was super clean as were the grounds! Staff was very helpful & friendly. Our bed was super comfy. All around wonderful stay!!! I loved the hammock!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveBug41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

we arrived after 9pm with no reservation. the man at the front desk gave us a discounted price.
parking is close... was hard to find because of the one way streets. but u can see the area.

we like the hotel alot and stayed 3 nights. charming small rooms. old rustic floors. cute place.
there is even a cat at the hotel... who will hang aroung and be your friend until more guests arrive

the pool is nice, the staff goes home around 10pm. your not supposed to use the pool... but if you are quiet nobody will notice. after walking in the heat of duval street its very nice to swim.

the sunlight comes in the room in the morning. which is kindof a nice wakeup.

in the morning they were doing some repairs on the roof of our room... but after a dirty look from my girlfriend they stopped. everyone was just really nice and polite. great locals here.
met another couple at the hotel. everyone in the keys is in a great mood and happy to be there!
oh, and alot of people in key west have been drinking... alot.... in the sun..... forever

Room Tip: try to get a room in the back. the rooms on the street look loud
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.6 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#31 of 77 in Key West
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $159 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is a 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of historic Old Town, Key West within a neighborhood and a short walk away from all the restaurants, attractions and nightlife on Duval street. It is also a nice bike ride away from the beaches and water sports of Key West. The hotel has a variety of guest rooms and suites located in a small grouping of cottages and buildings surrounded by lush landscaping and a private courtyard. The pool area provides a quiet and comfortable place to relax and unwind. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Romantic and relaxing, unique and charming; where modern style & comfort meets a relaxed Key West vibe. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at Merlin Guesthouse. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room Free Continental Breakfast Upscale Amenities Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Historic Landmark Guesthouse Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West Lovely Neighborhood Setting Onsite and Street Parking Nearby Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing