We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and in the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perry Hall, Maryland
1 review
“Relaxing and in the Action”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Went for my wife's 40th. The place was perfect to just hang and relax, but so close to the action of Duvall St. Could walk every where and they had a place to lock up our rented bikes. The room was great booked a king suite had more than enough space plus a large bathroom with a private porch under cover so we could sit outside during a rain storm. Breakfast every morning on the deck in the shade was great. I would tell all my friends to book this place. The best thing was once we walk our one block off Duvall to the Inn it was peaceful and quite.

Room Tip: Ask for room #20 own entrance and private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    188
    53
    22
    15
See reviews for
44
373
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We turned up around 9pm just driving around. Pulled up outside and a lovely chap showed us the rooms and straight away we knew this was going to be a nice place. We had 3 days. The room was large, clean and well presented. The location is excellent. The pool area was very refreshing and well maintained. We enjoyed breakfast in the garden. We will definitely stop again when in Key West.
Regards
David & Suzanne

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Z900dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a weekend stay here early this month & could not have been happier. From check-in to check-out, actually pre check-in to post check-out, the customer service is second to none. Always smiling, pleasant, willing to do whatever it takes to make you feel welcome. (not like a couple other not to be named places that make you feel like they are doing you a favor by letting you overpay to stay at their B&B). Our flight landed at noon & they held our bags for us & called us when our room was ready...2 hours before check-in time. There was a huge rain storm the afternoon we checked out & they let us shower & get cleaned up before our flight!!! We stayed in the economy queen room & couldn't have been happier. Hardwood floors throughout, VERY comfortable bed, good size bathroom. These room share a long covered porch with the other economy queen rooms right on Simonton & are very quiet, especially being on a busier street. If you get up early as we do & use roosters as your alarm clock, you will have to actually set an alarm...we didn't hear a single one!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaglerun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Merlin Guest House Key West, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are so happy you stayed with us at the Merlin Guesthouse! We agree that our staff go above and beyond to make each guest's stay special, and we are glad you loved your time at our beautiful historic inn. Thank you so much for sharing your experience here online, and we hope to see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very, very nice service and a good location are probably the main pro's. And the ok pool area. The con's include pretty small, dark (at least the one I got) and very simple rooms. Furthermore very thin walls, so a light sleeper must use earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefanAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Merlin Guest House Key West, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are ideally located right in the heart of Old Town, but you feel like you're in a tranquil oasis. Our "Economy Queen" rooms are fairly cozy and therefore priced accordingly. They're the perfect option if you want a very affordable room to spend the night in after spending your days exploring Key West. We also have some large beautiful cottages and King Suites at the Merlin Guesthouse if you prefer a more spacious accommodations during your next visit. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVENTURA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked the 2 bedroom cottage and had a fabulous time. Very charming Key West small style boutique hotel... Pool was small but perfect... the cottage had a great kitchen, bathroom, living room area and 2 large bedrooms... swing on the deck and even one parking spot which is very unusual.... LOVED Merlin Guesthouse. Only downside was that front desk agent was very cold and not friendly at all, mechanical and rude at its finest.... but she didnt ruin our amazing time... We will go back because we loved the place and I am sure all their staff is not like that unpleasant lady.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cottage is amazing and it comes with a parking spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Merlin Guest House Key West, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, TravelsLisa. We are glad you loved the Merlin Guesthouse as much as we do. The 2-Bedroom Cottage offers the perfect home-away-from-home in Old Town, Key West. We appreciate your comments about the front desk agent, and we apologize. You should only experience the warmest and friendliest service from all of our inn's team, and this issue has been addressed. We can't wait to have you stay here with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

After camping for two nights in the summer heat further up the Keys, we were ready for a nice night in a clean, air-conditioned room and we were not disappointed. Within walking distance of Duval and the downtown area. Stay was comfortable and the staff was great. Continental breakfast was superior to most and we enjoyed the cats on the premises, the patio and the spa pool.

Only minor complaint was our room was next to maid's closet so it was noisy in the afternoon and in the morning but we were never disturbed while trying to sleep. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killingtime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We loved it here. This was our 5th time in key west. We have stayed several different places and this was my favorite. We were greeted every morning by a very friendly staff and a very nice continintal breakfast.. We relaxed by the spa pool every day. It was close walking distance to devall street. We stayed in room 20...It was a very big bedroom with king size bed and flat screen t.v on the wall. It also had a big bathroom, a fridge and a hair dryer. We will definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room # 20 was one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#20 of 51 in Key West
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.0 mi away
Courtney's Place
Courtney's Place
#38 of 77 in Key West
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Property: Merlin Guest House Key West
Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is a 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of historic Old Town, Key West within a neighborhood and a short walk away from all the restaurants, attractions and nightlife on Duval street. It is also a nice bike ride away from the beaches and water sports of Key West. The hotel has a variety of guest rooms and suites located in a small grouping of cottages and buildings surrounded by lush landscaping and a private courtyard. The pool area provides a quiet and comfortable place to relax and unwind. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Romantic and relaxing, unique and charming; where modern style & comfort meets a relaxed Key West vibe. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at Merlin Guesthouse. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room Free Continental Breakfast Upscale Amenities Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Historic Landmark Guesthouse Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West Lovely Neighborhood Setting Onsite and Street Parking Nearby Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing