We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week at the Merlin Guesthouse, it was awesome. Perfect distance from pretty much everything, we walked every where (except to and from the airport) with no problem. Everyone at the front desk was so friendly. We stayed in the basic small room but was perfect because we were on vacation and aren't hanging out in the room all day. Overall great experience and we would stay at the Merlin again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelbyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was my first trip to Key West, FL and i can honestly say i will never stay anywhere else when i go back. Merlin Guesthouse was amazing! The staff is super friendly and always smiling! Anything we could have needed or wanted was there. The ambiance of the entire grounds was spectacular. We stayed in an Economy Queen room which wasn't very big but it was perfect for us since we didn't spend much time in the room. Breakfast every morning was lovely. I will suggest this accommodation to any of my friends who are planning a trip to Key West!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I expected to see lush gardens and plenty of cats. Instead I was greeted by a warm (very warm) pool with older adults partying and trying to hook up. The room was neat and cold, Linda who works there is amazing. Just was more of a party atmosphere with the older crowd looking for dance clubs and strip clubs. Not my scene. No fitness center or room service. Close to Duval Street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mishi257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Merlin guesthouse looks very charming online especially for a couples getaway, however I was very disappointed with this place. The parking situation was not good at all, it was all street parking which was nearly impossible to find. The walls were paper thin so you could hear your neighbors, as well as street noise. The place was small! The pictures make it look much larger than it actually was. There isn't enough room in the bathroom for 2 people just to give you an idea. Lastly the bed was horrible. It had a big dip in it which gave me lower back pain, and the sheets were super itchy. That was just our experience...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank bbelindee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Set in a quiet residential neighborhood, the property is located steps away from the buzz, but does not suffer at all from the noise and traffic. It is also perfectly centered between the north and South ends of Duval St. offering easy access to all attractions by foot.

The economy queen room (on the front line of rooms facing the street) are small, as are the bathrooms. There are (much) larger rooms available. The room was well furnished and clean, with the only exception that the wall mounted (and immovable) small flat screen TV was not angled properly so the screen was very dark due to the improper viewing angle. I mentioned this to the very friendly and helpful front desk and they seemed to care enough to have the issue fixed.

The property has a small pool set in a very private small vegetation lined yard, as well as plenty of comfortable garden furniture. This area makes up for the small room. Wifi was not very strong in the room, but was fine in the garden area. Buffet breakfast was good quality and plentiful, but not bountiful.

Overall, I used this place as a staging ground for ocean activities and I was happy enough to come back to the well located/priced small room to CRASH after a long day in the ocean.

Room Tip: Parking can be tricky in Key West, ask the receptionist to help you find a "legal" spot, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed relaxing two nights at the Merlin Guesthouse but would have loved to stay longer! Relaxed and very peaceful, yet very well located near the main streets. Upon arrival, we felt welcome. The breakfast in the garden with the lazy cats around was nice, too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepromene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom cottage in June. We had our own parking spot and could walk easily to Duaval. The rooms were very nice and clean and the entire property was very well kept. When we return to Key West, we will stay here again. Wish the pool was opened a little later.

Room Tip: Couldn't go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlyvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.6 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $169 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Merlin Guest House located in the Old Town area of Key West. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 20 guest rooms which are located just one block from Duval Street; you will be steps away from Key West’s best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and attractions. Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, and Ernest Hemingway’s Home are all within easy reach. The nearest beach is just six blocks away. Take off walking in any direction and you will discover Key West’s hidden treasures. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing