We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Oasis”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #37 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
“Tropical Oasis”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the Banyan Resort in November and had the best time. Right off Duval and close to Mallory Square but you would never know it. We found it quiet (we faced the back) and the backside of the resort is a canopy of banyan trees and paths meandering through it to get to the two pools and tiki bar. We walked everywhere we went.
Staff was great, what little we saw of them.
If you like yoga try yoga on the beach at Fort Zachary Taylor Park. It was awesome. It was by far the best vacation ever!

Room Tip: There were 3 of us and we stayed upstairs in 507. This is a loft (with spiral staircase) facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackwaterMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The next time you're in town, they're now doing paddle board yoga if you're up for a new experience. Its very peaceful and serene.

The loft units definitely aren't for everyone... guests either love them or hate them due to the spiral stairs. They are certainly unique and have a lot of character.

We hope to see you again soon!

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    96
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
84
184
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I just stayed at this property last week for a few nights - so relaxing! The resort is located one block off of duval street and minutes to Mallory Square for the sunset celebration. I stayed in a one bedroom right off of the Adult Only Pool - it was fantastic. The tiki bar is a great amenity as well as the nearby hot tub. The staff was very welcoming and the property was very clean! The perfect retreat in Key West. The One Bedroom unit has everything you could need with a nice deck area for each unit. Parking was very accessible as well - right off Whitehead and close to my unit. Very quiet and unique property in the heart of Key West!

Room Tip: Near the Adult Pool was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Lauren ~

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It sounds like you had a lovely stay with us and we're happy to hear it!!

We hope to see you again the next time you're in Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Banyan Resort. The staff is extremely welcoming and very helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. The location of this resort is right where you want to be when you stay in Key West. The Tiki Bar breakfast sandwiches are the best and cheapest on the island! The bed was comfortable and the towels are soft and very clean. I can 't say enough good about this place. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodib409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Jodi ~

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Breakfast sandwiches are the best... I truly believe they are addictive!

We look forward to seeing you on your third visit, which we hope will be very soon!!

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've stayed other at hotels in Key West, but this is my new favorite place. I can't wait to go back to the Banyan Resort. The homes are beautiful, the staff are friendly and nice....and its the cleanest place I've ever stayed ! #302 had a courtyard that was enclosed to have a quiet glass of wine or read a book, it also had a front porch on Eaton St, where you could sit and people watch.
The pool area was a tropical oasis, and it had a chair lift for the handicapped. All in all I have to say the Banyan made my short getaway soooo worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popeye08NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Housekeeping takes great pride in their work, I'll be sure to share your accolades with them.

We hope to see you again, soon!!

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We are enjoying a great week at the Banyan in spite of the rainy weather. Staff is very friendly and competent. The front desk gave us several restaurant recommendations that were spot on and saved us from a few disasters as restaurants have changed since our visit last spring.
The rooms are very clean and our 1 bedroom has plenty of space for the 2 of us. The gardens and pools are very well-maintained and the location is PERFECT. Despite its proximity to Duval St, the rooms are very quiet at night for sleeping . A 30-minute brisk walk to Higgs Beach for some amazing sunrises too! A definite recommend

Room Tip: Some rooms have both front and back porches for added privacy!
See more room tips
Green Features: The Banyan is very focused on maintaining and improving its 3 palm "green" rating. Easy recycling and the refurbished rooms reflect that priority.in the choices of flooring and appliances.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Kristy ~

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Key West is famous for its sunsets but some of its sunrises are equally if not more breathtaking... everyone should do it at least once!

We hope you'll return soon to enjoy waking up in our island paradise.

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location, quiet but close to everything, and service perfect.
rooms upgraded with new appliances and furnishings. Two pools and hot tub plus tiki bar. Must check this out ,best value in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was just speaking with a guest the other day who made the comment that The Banyan is so centrally located that they were able to enjoy restaurants, night life and shopping all without ever having to leave one square block ~ your comment of "quiet and close to everything" certainly sums it up!

We're looking forward to your next visit.

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Banyon is in the perfect location, just a short walk from Duval but quiet and peaceful. The staff are always ready to help with anything you need and made us feel very at home. The units are super clean and very nice. The price is perfect, couldn't have asked for anything better. If I ever get to go back to Key West, I wouldn't think of staying any where else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Tracey ~

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Our goal is make The Banyan your home away from home in the tropical island paradise of Key West ~ as stated on our website. I'm glad to hear we were able to deliver that experience to you!

We hope to see you again, soon!!

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#26 of 77 in Key West
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
0.0 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#49 of 77 in Key West
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Property: The Banyan Resort
Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing