We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN KEY WEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #37 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE TO STAY IN KEY WEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have been traveling to Key West for several years and have stayed at various properties over the years. When I "found" this place, I knew it was "the one". It is by far the BEST place to stay in Key West. The location is second to NONE. This resort is in heart of Old Town and a short walk to everything. At the same time, when enjoying the amenities of this charming and historic property, its as if you are in a secluded tropical paradise. The gardens are amazing, the pools and tiki bar are beautiful and sparkling clean! Each room is unique and tastefully done, very comfortable and inviting. The Banyan Tree is a wonderful resort and I highly recommend it for everyone, This unique property is a welcome relief from the large "chain" resorts. I LOVE IT, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BristolD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We're so glad you "found" us!!

Hope to see you again, soon!

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    94
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
83
183
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely grounds, full kitchen, just refurbished, and a Tiki Bar! What more do you need! Just a block off Duval but still quiet. Stainless appliances and granite counters. We love the "tree house" #405. We love Key West and The Banyan Resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LouAnnRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a second review. I went back and read your first review and I'm glad we continue to deliver the vacation experience that keeps you coming back for more!

It's nice to hear you're pleased with the upgrades in your unit. Everyone is looking forward to getting all of the rooms completed.

See you next time!

Julie Crane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Banyan Tree in Key West and really enjoyed our stay! The location is 2nd to none, the staff is fantastic, the gardens and pools were gorgeous and we really like the eclectic layout of all the rooms. All rooms/suites are very different unlike the cookie cutter hotel style resorts!! Loved it so much I'm buying in!

Room Tip: All the rooms are being remodeled. So I would ask for one that has been completed. High floors in th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Green minded management and staff. They have a great Towel and Linen reuse program. The Banyan prefers to use electronic correspondences instead of regular mail. Their gardens are simply breathtaking.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you have decided to become an Owner!

We'll see you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found this tropical paradise a few years ago and keep returning because we have found no better place to stay in Old Town. It is two blocks to the sunset celebration every evening, one block to Duval Street yet secluded enough to make you feel like you are in your own world. The gardens are gorgeous and it has two pools a jacuzzi and a great little tiki bar that was perfect for tropical drinks poolside and they served us lunch by the pool, too!

It only has 48 units so don't tell too many travelers about the Banyan or you'll be booking years in advance! I can't wait to return!!! ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We love that you rated the Banyan as better than any other place in Old Town!

We're very proud of the level of service we provide and constantly strive to provide the best service possible.

We hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

For years, my wife and I have spent at least a week in Key West every year, renting at various places. Once we saw Banyan, we decided simply to buy a week time share. Have not regretted it. We could have continued to rent, but this place is worth coming back to every year.

It is close enough to all the "action" on Duval to be very convenient, but just far enough away that it seems like you're in a different (and quiet) world. Some of the other rental places we've been are too far away, some way too noisy at night. Banyan is "just right" - a winner. Helpful staff, nice pools, great shade under the banyan tree, kitchen enough and available bbq grills to prepare an easy meal when we're not dining out, easy in and out. Perfect place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AirsDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We're glad to hear that you loved the Banyan so much more than the other Key West properties that you chose to become and Owner! We hope you continue enjoy your Banyan vacations for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

All I can say is that it's too bad we only stayed one night. This is a very quaint resort one block away from Duval, yet secluded enough when you want to relax and run away from it all, has 2 pools, jacuzzi, Tiki bar, lush gardens, etc....our unit was a pristine 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit upstairs overlooking Eaton, inmaculately clean and very nicely decorated, super comfortable beds, will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to the Conch Republic!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We're happy you enjoyed your Banyan Experience and look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very spacious two bedroom one bath apartment. Maid service was excellent. By far the best feature for us was the location. It was a block away from Duval Street and 5 minutes from Mallory Square. Banyan had two pools which was good if it got crowded. And if we had problems with anything (tv, lights, etc.) maintenance fixed it right away. Considering we had awful weather the whole time, it was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Work with the staff when planning-they are very helpful
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't really notice. Vegetation was gorgeous and they offered the opportunity not to change the sheets or towels every day.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review... We're all happy you were satisfied with the services we provide and take great pride in resolving any issues as quickly as possible. We hope you'll stay with us again during your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.3 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#13 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Property: The Banyan Resort
Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing