We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bet in Key West”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #38 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Bet in Key West”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My cousin and I didn't want to share a room and were able to find an accommodation here that, while costing less than two individual rooms in most others, afforded each privacy with a full bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room/dining area. Additionally, while most lodgings required more than one night over the Memorial Day Weekend, we were able to make a reservation for Friday night only. We also wanted to be within walking distance of what we had planned to do during our brief stay of Friday afternoon and morming/early afternoon of Saturday: the Conch Train Tour, the sunset celebration, tours of the Hemingway House and the Truman Little White House. While only one block from the busy and touristy Duval Street, The Banyan Resort is a quiet tropical paradise with lovely vegetation and a lot of charm. The accommodation was just as promised: the bedroom was a real bedroom with a door, and, as requested, on the second floor, and it was clean!. The Banyan Resort met all our accommodation and location requirements, and exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're so glad the Banyan was the best fit for your Key West Vacation and hope you come back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    95
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
84
184
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Wife and I have been going to Key West for nearly 20 years. We stayed at The Banyan 10 years ago. It is a timeshare and all units have been sold but many are available to rent. After staying there we bought a week that we have used every year since then. Because the owners don't list their weeks as available to rent until they know their vacation plans, the rentals that are available may only be listed a month or 2 before your vacation. There are 38 units all with full kitchens in 8 historic houses with 2 pools and a great tiki bar. The staff is very friendy and will help with your needs. The best thing about The Banyan is that it is close to everything in Old Town Key West. One block to Duval Street, Kellys bar, 2 blocks to the Little White House, Hard Rock and many Duval restaurants, 3 blocks to Mallory Square, the Green Parrot, Fasco supermarket and Sloppy Joe's, and 4 blocks to the Hemingway house and Eaton Street Sea Food. There may be 40 restaurants and bars within walking distant but the Banyan is on a quite street. Some years we have stayed there 4 weeks during the year. We will be there next year in late Jan. and early Feb.

Green Features: The Banyan was the first green resort in Key West. They are an environment friendly resort.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toyschach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Banyan's proximity to most everything the island has to offer certainly makes for a relaxing, no vehicle, vacation!

You do touch a bit on the rental availability... Its important to note that should the instance arise when we may not have the inventory readily available for rent, we do make every immediate effort to Owners of the period and let them know. This usually results in having the availability a potential guest is seeking rather quickly during most periods of the year.

I hope you have a great summer up north and we'll see you after the holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
236 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an absolutely beautiful place to stay; condos are wonderful!! The location is in the heart of Key West, so convenient. You are a block from Duval. However, you do not even know it. Very quiet, relaxing. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazlo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

LOVE the bright royal panciana tree right outside the humungous balcony of this room. LOVED the pools and tiki bar (wish the tiki was open later than 5pm). Prime location - walked to everything. Lush gardens made it seem like we were off the beaten path, when in fact we were RIGHT THERE in the heart of it all.

Room Tip: Some rooms are up 1-2 flights of steps; ask about this ahead of time if you can not or dont wish to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLBuckeyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
You're right... 303 is awesome ~ but as you mention it is up stairs. Since every suite at the Banyan has its unique charm and character, be sure to consider other options if the stairs aren't an option. Our staff is standing by to assist you in finding the perfect suite to suit you while helping plan the vacation experience of a lifetime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lush greenery and flowers abound. Friendly staff. Super-clean accomodations. The resort is made up of original Key West homes built in the 1800s!! No need for a car - your feet are your transportation. Two blocks to Duval and all its action, good eats and entertainment. Continue trekking and end up in FABULOUS Mallory Square to watch the sunset...eat...visit the museums....eat...watch the street entertainers....eat...dance...and be very merry!! Want to explore more? Rent a bike or other mode of transportation - no need to search - the resort will help with the arrangements. Only drawback a little pricey. This is a Timeshare resort. If you want to keep coming back to Key West, best deal is to own here.

Room Tip: Tip: Ask for Room 302 - two entrances, private patio, family pool a few feet away from your patio do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. Luckily, the location of the Banyan provides many options of restaurants and eateries suitable for all budgets with great food and usually even better people watching!

You're right... ownership at the Banyan is a great opportunity for an affordable Key West vacation for those who plan to spend a minimum of a week in Key West. While the Banyan's rental rates offer competitive if not better value when compared to other Key West properties in the Old Town/Historic District; the Banyan has the added bonus of having full kitchens in every suite and offers all of the comforts of home for those guests who can only spend a few days. We do have an onsite sales office. Please call us if you're interested in learning more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I booked a five night stay the Banyan Resort for our Anniversary. We couldn’t have had a better time and a lot of that was because we stayed at the Banyan Resort! I’m not sure you can beat the location and price in Key West. We stayed in room 508, which is a loft on the backside of the main building. We had read a review on room 508 on tripadvisor before staying there, but we did not have the same complaints as that reviewer. The only helpful thing on that review was that the thermostat resets itself to 78 degrees throughout the day. Every time we would come back to the room, I would check the thermostat and move it down if it had reset to 78 degrees because we knew that (not a big deal as the thermostat is right in front of you as you enter the room). The location is great, only a block from all the action on Duval, but surprisingly quiet. I could not hear any of the Duval action in the room or on the property. On the first level, our room had a full kitchen (which was important to us), bathroom, living room, and dining room. There is a spiral staircase from the living room up to the bedroom. We had no issue with the spiral staircase, the bedroom was small, but with all the living space on the lower level, all we needed the bedroom for was to sleep. Since this is a timeshare resort, the other guests were quite friendly, as are most people in Key West. The balcony outside the room was not private, but again everyone is friendly and there is enough space between rooms, to feel as though the balcony is private. We enjoyed our time at the pool and Bridgette and Eric at theTiki Bar were great (great drinks, great service, and great prices). Staff was great as well, always helpful and at your service. Can’t wait for our next Key West trip and stay at The Banyan Resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
.. and we're so glad you found The Banyan, too!!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You provided some great information that I'm sure others will find helpful.

We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is truly a great place. Lovely setting, nice people, good rooms. Two pools is nice and a hot tub that is actually hot. Free coffee in the morning. Great parking without any hassles. Location is right in the action but far enough away to be quiet. Not cheap but what is there? We will do it again.

Room Tip: Any bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. See you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Property: The Banyan Resort
Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing