We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great.”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #36 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We go every year in august for lobsterfest.this year will be our 5th going and we always stay at the banyan. The location is perfect, walking distance to anywhere on duval st. everyone that works there is very professional and always try to accomodate us in any way they possibly can. Very quiet and cozy place.rooms and pools are always clean. I comment on the tiki bar because all of the years i have been there i have never been to the tiki bar!lol maybe that will change aug 9th.Usually when u go to they keys u just use your hotel just to shower and sleep but the rooms,patio and pools are a great place to chill and enjoy a couple of drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmurphy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Lobster Fest is definitely one of the best times in Key West... the lobster is fresh and plentiful ~ the waters are usually flat calm and crystal clear! Its the perfect time to enjoy the ocean breezes when the mainland is sweltering with in the August heat. Lobster Fest is August 8-11 in 2013 and there are still a few rooms available. Visit the Banyan's website or call us to reserve your room today ~ we'll see you then!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for The Banyan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 435 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very Good Staff
Attentive On Site Manager
Great Atmosphere
Unique Accomodations
Enjoyable Pools and Hot Tub
Unbelievably close (walk to everywhere!)
Good Value (reasonably Priced!)
Private TIKI Bar
Very Friendly, Accomodating and Proud Time Share Owners

Room Tip: Look at what is available...Each room Is Unique and Somewhat Different( No Cookie Cutter Rooms here...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misteri0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I love the bullet point approach... short and to the point!

We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been staying at the Banyan for a number of years and have always been pleased. If you're looking for a modern hotel setting, the Banyan isn't for you as the property consists of old antique Key West homes which have been converted into comfortable efficiency style units. Its location on Whitehead St is within walking distance of anything in old Key West you want, so if you fly in for your stay.. you really won't need a car. The units are always clean and well maintained, though kitchens and bathrooms were in the process of being updated during my last visit. I'm looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and continue to return to the Banyan year after year. We're really excited about the refurbishments, too!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our third time at the Banyan, first with kids. Although families with kids are clearly not the Banyan's target visitors, it was pleasant enough. Our visit was unusally chilly but the kids enjoyed the family pool and outdoor tiki bar. We were in a 2 bedroom that was unfortunately on the corner of Whitehead and Eaton and very very loud. Fairly clean but the room could clearly use a major overhall. I believe they have replaced some of the furnishings - beds were great - but the tile and kitchen area were dated and a bit grungy. The shower looked recently updated, though, and was nice. There's definitely an "adult" vibe. Lots of work going on around the property but didn't interfere with our enjoyment. Hopefully they keep updating the units. We'd probably try a different spot on the next trip, though. Key West isn't cheap and the Banyan isn't either.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodyrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I see that you have stayed at the Banyan twice before but after your third stay you don't think you want to return... what happened during this visit that changed your mind about returning? I definitely value your opinion and your business and would like the opportunity to keep you as our guest.

I couldn't agree with you more regarding the tired design. The great news is that full renovations are slated to begin June 1, 2013! Included in the upgrades are completely new kitchens with stainless appliances, granite counters and new cabinets. The bathrooms will be completely renovated to the modern standard including glass shower enclosures and brushed nickel fixtures complimented by new vanities. The flooring in all areas but the bedrooms and bathrooms will be upgraded to a floating locking floor system that looks like hardwood but is much more durable and sound absorptive. The carpet in the bedrooms will also be replaced. The entire renovation project is anticipated to be completed by the end of 2015. We are very excited about the project!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My spouse arranged a surprise April getaway weekend trip to KW. She booked a ground level 1 bdrm suite for 4 nts. 1 blk off Duval & 3 blks to Mallory Sq. Fully equipped unit w kitchen and sitting room. Luxurious bedding. Good a/c and outside private patio w/ furniture. Resort has 2 pools & attended tiki bar between them. Sandwiches avail. Bikes for rent $10/day. Staff great. Little pricey, but worth it for location & amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. A question for you, what suggestion(s) do you have that would help you to see it as a better value? Your feedback would be greatly appreciated as we are constantly striving to meet our guests expectations. We hope to see you again the next time a surprise weekend get-a-way is in the works!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend and I recently spent a week at the Banyan Resort. I have to say it was by far the best vacation ever in Key West!!! We arrived approximately 3 hours earlier than check-in time and our room was ready and the service from that moment on was exceptional. The grounds are very well kept and are simply beautiful!!! We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and had a lovely front porch which we enjoyed many times throughout the day. All of the staff were always pleasant as they walked by and always had a friendly "hello." Bridgette and Eric at the Tiki Bar were totally awesome!!! They make wonderful drinks and the best burgers in Key West!!! We met so many nice people at the pool and at the Tiki Bar. We rented bikes from the Banyan for the week and explored many beautiful areas not too far from the resort. It was great to walk 2 blocks down and be at Mallory Square or Duval to listen to some great music!!! At know point during our stay did we ever hear any traffic or music from the busy areas around us. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone looking for a bit of paradise!!!! We are already planning our trip for next year but in hopes that it will be for 2 weeks instead of 1.

Thank You to everyone at the Banyan for giving us one of the best vacations ever!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the Banyan as much as you did. See you next year... fingers crossed that it will be for two weeks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a 5-night stay in a loft suite. Pictures on the website look nice...enough room for 4 people. The loft room is NOT big enough for more than two people. Tiny, tiny room. The pictures are deceptive. One bathroom located downstairs. The loft is up a winding staircase. If you need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, it's risky going down those steps. The tiki bar is small, very small. Not my idea of a tiki bar at all, and it closes at 5 p.m. Every morning about 7 a.m., we were awakened by either someone sweeping in front of our room, leaf blowers, hedge trimmers, etc.... Housekeeping was very aggressive. They would come by.... ask them to come back later and they were knocking again in 20 min. The worst part was that one morning we left for a fishing trip and housekeeping came in our room as we were leaving. She entered as we left. We returned 4-5 hrs. later to find the door to our room wide open. Not just unlocked, but open. The resort offered up a $50 credit at the tiki bar, which closes at 5 p.m. We paid over $300/night for a room that should have been less than half that price. Overpriced for what you get, at least the loft suite. Our overall experience left much to be desired. The location is very good.

Room Tip: Don't book a loft suite.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eriqak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellee B, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience. It is our goal to provide the best vacation experience possible to all of our guests. It was my impression when speaking with you that the Tiki Bar credit was satisfactory. I only wish you had let me know about your dissatisfaction with your other issues, so I could have had the opportunity to resolve them.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do to restore your faith in the Banyan so you will give us another chance should you return to the tropical island paradise of Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#47 of 77 in Key West
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#27 of 77 in Key West
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $249 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing